pro/sportman brake red light green light

Old 06-25-2009, 09:42 AM
  #1  
wrightway
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: LAWTON MI
Posts: 113
Default pro/sportman brake red light green light

Has anyone went from a sportsman brake to a pro or pro/sport
What kind of difference did you see in reaction times?
I’m running in no box bottom bulb class with a hipster pro brake in a glide running low 10’s
When I see the first yellow I put it against the brake/two step then drop my eyes to the bottom yellow so that I don’t anticipate
I cannot leave at first sight of bottom or I will be red
Thinking about trying a sportsman brake to see if it helps
Lights so far this year
.0147
.0209
.050
.0401
.0025
.0213
.0042
-.0013
-.0345
.0032
-.0126
.0115
.0107
wrightway is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 10:15 AM
  #2  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default Re: pro/sportman brake red light green light

Originally Posted by wrightway
Has anyone went from a sportsman brake to a pro or pro/sport
What kind of difference did you see in reaction times?
I’m running in no box bottom bulb class with a hipster pro brake in a glide running low 10’s
When I see the first yellow I put it against the brake/two step then drop my eyes to the bottom yellow so that I don’t anticipate
I cannot leave at first sight of bottom or I will be red
Thinking about trying a sportsman brake to see if it helps
Lights so far this year
.0147
.0209
.050
.0401
.0025
.0213
.0042
-.0013
-.0345
.0032
-.0126
.0115
.0107
A normal brake should slow down the leave some but will not tighten up the reactions, maybe something else is going on, plunger hanging up a bit bad solenoid ?
hammertime is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 12:26 PM
  #3  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

If you have to sit on the bottom bulb to avoid going red, that's why your lights are erratic. That's a really tough thing to do consistently. A sportsman brake will help slow them down some but an additional hole is usually drilled in the rear of the case for a pro brake. I'm not sure if you'll have to plug it......other things you can try if you haven't already:
stage REALLY shallow
lower launch rpm
taller front tire
Does your car yank the front up out of the beams? If so, then maybe higher slick pressure or some suspension adjustments would help.......
johnracer is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 01:24 PM
  #4  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

What added hole in the back of the case is drilled for a pro brake ?
hammertime is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 02:11 PM
  #5  
suicidebomb
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Independence, Missouri
Posts: 1,188
Default

Dave,I think he's talking about a double dump pro brake, they drill an extra hole to dump pressure off the reverse clutches. Not sure all pro brakes are double dump.
suicidebomb is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 02:28 PM
  #6  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by suicidebomb
Dave,I think he's talking about a double dump pro brake, they drill an extra hole to dump pressure off the reverse clutches. Not sure all pro brakes are double dump.
I hadnt used or seen one like that, thanks for the answer because it was a new one to me.

Typically a normal pro brake isnt that way, I know the hipster isnt, I also know the hipster is a aggressive brake.
hammertime is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 02:29 PM
  #7  
onedragracer
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Odessa Texas
Posts: 81
Default

You might try one of the slow releasing transbrake switches from Biondo.
That might help you.
onedragracer is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:04 PM
  #8  
shawnp
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 937
Default

A pro brake is faster than a standard brake. Like mentioned, if you are already having red issues you need to adjust front tire psi, size or look at an adjustable button.
shawnp is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:38 PM
  #9  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Originally Posted by hammertime
Originally Posted by suicidebomb
Dave,I think he's talking about a double dump pro brake, they drill an extra hole to dump pressure off the reverse clutches. Not sure all pro brakes are double dump.
I hadnt used or seen one like that, thanks for the answer because it was a new one to me.

Typically a normal pro brake isnt that way, I know the hipster isnt, I also know the hipster is a aggressive brake.
I thought all pro brakes were that way. I've installed TCI, ATI, and others and they were all double dump. I guess I just haven't dealt with any that weren't...........learned somethin' new!
johnracer is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 08:22 PM
  #10  
wrightway
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: LAWTON MI
Posts: 113
Default

Originally Posted by johnracer
If you have to sit on the bottom bulb to avoid going red, that's why your lights are erratic. That's a really tough thing to do consistently.
Man that a understatement but think you feel my pain :wink:
wrightway is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service