CAM ID HELP?

Old 06-17-2009, 12:55 PM
  #1  
bbchevy
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fountain,MICHIGAN
Posts: 856
Default CAM ID HELP?

Just got the Cam out of my motor and Need some HELP I.D.ing It????
Heres the #'s right of the Cam?
321 JR-12

C
C

UL6918-05

I was told by a Builder the the Inscribed CC stands for Crane Cams?When i called Crane?They told me if it was Crane?It would say CRANE on the Cam?
All of these #'s and letters are hand wrote with a Engraving Tool.
Sure hope someone has a GOOD Answer?
Cause the Car is SURE a TURD!
The Motor 540"BBC,(Suppose to be 15.1?)Dart 345 CNC Heads,Team G,C.Nuyten 1200 CFM Dom on Gas,Deadenbear Glide,PTC 5800 Verter,4.88 Gear,29X10.5W Hoosiers,3200 LBS w/Driver,68 Chevy II.
Heres what REALY BLOWS
1/8 Mile
1.48 60' 6.72 1/8 107MPH.After that Performance,i couldnt Load up Fast Enuff and LEAVE!!!!!!!!
AnyBody?
THANKS
G 8)

Found the Cam Specs!
Its a COMP CAMS Stick
748/748
321/336 286/298 @.050 Seems like a Bunch???They have the cam Advanced 3*?
Power Band 5-7500
Which is where i was Missing the BOAT!!!
Being the 1st time out in the Car,i was Leaving on the Converter @ 1500-1800 Bingo!Shifted @ about 5200 and went threw at 5400.
I SEE THE Problem,NEVER Got into the Power Band!
Guess i'll Have to be a Bit More AGGRESSIVE,Bring it out at 5 Grand and Hang On?How Much E.T.do you think i was Leaving on the Table?Whats Realy WEIRD,this Cam is as fair IDLING as a Stock SBC cam????
Still Dont Like this cam?But what do My Fellow Racers Think?
I Have the Isky cam out of My 514 that i LOVED!
Lets Here what you Guys have to Say...............................?
THANKS for the Time!
Later
G
bbchevy is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 05:55 PM
  #2  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Got a call from a buddy with this same cam in his 540, local engine shop put it in there. I'll tell you what I told him, duration seems ALL wrong for a door car to me ?

I'd think something with 775/748 lift would be better also, leaving off 1500-1800 is going to net a ton difference specially with the converter stall being 5800, launch at 4400-4600 and it'll see a good difference in et.
hammertime is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 11:23 PM
  #3  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

My 540 has a Crane roller .737/.726 276/284 @ .050 114 LSA It's installed @ 109 ICL per the cam card... in 3200 lb car with an 8" converter and it went a 1.31 60' and it only has 13 to 1 compression. I haven't worked with it at all yet....only made one full pass with the new heads and then I forgot to shift and hit the chip briefly. ops: went 6.10 in the eighth.


AS cast 2x brodix 340 cc runners,stock 1050 dominator and a box stock 454 r with the 4150 adaptor plate
Tod74 is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 06:42 AM
  #4  
bbchevy
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fountain,MICHIGAN
Posts: 856
Default CAM ID HELP?

Tod,
As far as the Duration?I was Thinking the Same thing(TOO MUCH)Maybe if this Motor was in My 1750lb Altered?
I'm REALY LEANING Toward Installing My ISKY Cam?
Its a Magnum Grind
10L 112
RR 731/274
RR753/284
396
This was in My 514" Motor and Worked GOOD,but the Motor was in My Altered?
Its Got abit Less Duration,and i 'm Debating a 1.75 or 1.8 on the Intake?
Which if i remember,i Ran a 1.8 on the Intake before?Although they have DISAPPEARED?
THANKS
for the HELP!!
Later
G 8)
bbchevy is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 07:11 AM
  #5  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

The 748/748 cam is a good one. You need aleast a 5500 converter and a shift point of 7000rpm. One good thing about that cam is 240spring pressure will work. With the bigger cams you'll need more and thats more stress on all your valve train. I would stay with that cam and degree it at 110. 540 in a my buddies Chevelle weighs 2800lb runs 8.90s in the 1/4 and 5.57 in the 1/8. with a 1.235 60ft. It has a 748/748 Reher Morrison cam(Erson). ET is made the first 330ft and good converter is a must. Just wanted to add... you know your engine is clearanced for that 748 cam if you go changing cams you may have to fly cut your pistons and rechecking your balance of your engine. Just make sure if you change that you recheck your clearances.
dparker is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 08:21 AM
  #6  
bbchevy
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fountain,MICHIGAN
Posts: 856
Default CAM ID HELP?

I Understand about the Larger Lift Cam,but the Isky Cam is within .004 so i would HOPE that the Motor has atleast that Much Clearence?Eventhough you should check the Intake Valve as it is Chasing the Piston down the Hole.
By Looking at the Specs of Each cam,i beleive the Isky is a but Less Aggresive,esspecially in the Duration department?
I Guess its My call on the Cam,the Worst thing is that i have to Change it back,if it dont work?
What is on my Mind is making a 7 Grand Shiftpoint,since i Only run 1/8 Mile?
I was thinking that the 4.88 with the 29" Tire would WRAP up Faster,trhan it did?But,with the SOFT Leave it Never came Up?Hopefully bringing the Car out @ 5-Grand will make the Motor Stay Up close to the 7 Grand?Like i said,i only left the Line @ 1800?
THANKS
G 8)
bbchevy is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 11:13 AM
  #7  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

You should have enough clearance with a smaller cam. But your clearance comes into play just as much with the advance or retard of the cam when you degree it. The more the cam is advanced the tighter the clearance on the piston. Therefore you could have a 725 lift cam with less piston clearance than a 748, if the 725 lift cam calls for a 107 centerline and the 748 calls for a 110 centerline. If you change a cam, I think you should always have your clearances checked. JMO
dparker is offline  
Old 06-19-2009, 02:42 AM
  #8  
TS1955
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lost Creek, WV
Posts: 533
Default

dparker, that was well said! JMO

TS1955
TS1955 is offline  
Old 06-19-2009, 05:06 PM
  #9  
bbchevy
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fountain,MICHIGAN
Posts: 856
Default Cam

Your 101% CORRECT!AND,
I APPRECIATE your Help!!!
Think the Isky will be Going in Tommorow?
THANKS
G 8)
bbchevy is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service