Frame mounts?

Old 06-15-2009, 02:51 PM
  #1  
hotrod1024
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: FayettevilleN.C.
Posts: 215
Default Frame mounts?

I found out that motor mounts were possibly switched.I removed them and switched sides and it appears to be wrong.All holes line up but mounts seem to be hanging over crossmember excessively.These are sbc motor mounts in a 68 Firebird.Is it possible these are wrong mounts? Was old i need 68 Camaro mounts,but not sure if these are specifically for camaro as they were mounted to frame already when i got this car.Please look at pictures and tell me if anyone knows if this looks right an if it will work.Thanks,Randy.[img][/img]
hotrod1024 is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 06:08 PM
  #2  
hotrod1024
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: FayettevilleN.C.
Posts: 215
Default

Somedy!I NEED HELP! LOL.Ill check tomorrow.
hotrod1024 is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 06:36 PM
  #3  
fla1976
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
fla1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,534
Default Mounts

Here is a photo of the motor mount in my 52 Chevy. It is a 69 Camaro subframe and it looks pretty much like your setup. So, we are either both right or both wrong. ops:

If you click on it it will enlarge the photo.




fla1976 is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 02:16 PM
  #4  
hotrod1024
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: FayettevilleN.C.
Posts: 215
Default

Thats exactly how mine looks.It just seems to hangover excessively.Hopefully it wont give under a load.Thanks alot for your reply.It does help to know its not just me.LOL.
hotrod1024 is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 04:32 AM
  #5  
CamBirdRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 510
Default

Nope not right. Oh wait, you have a Chevy motor in a Pontiac? haha. My buddy's 68 Camaro looks like this, I would live with it.


Just wondering why you don't have a Pontiac motor in it?
CamBirdRacing is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 12:53 PM
  #6  
hotrod1024
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: FayettevilleN.C.
Posts: 215
Default

Originally Posted by CamBirdRacing
Nope not right. Oh wait, you have a Chevy motor in a Pontiac? haha. My buddy's 68 Camaro looks like this, I would live with it.


Just wondering why you don't have a Pontiac motor in it?
I answered this question in another post a while back. Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 1:24 am Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 1:24 am Subject: PICS:CamBirdRacing wrote:
Be nice when you get it done, but G.M. never put a Chevy motor in a Pontiac in 1968. Sorry about that, I'm just a big Pontiac fan.hotrod1024 wrote:
I am very aware gm never put a Chevy motor in a Pontiac.Ford didnt put Chevy motors in their cars either, but I see them all the time. My bird came with a Chevy motor when I got it,so I decided not to change a good thing.Especially when i dont have money to buy a Pontiac motor and trans back in it.I work with what I got,which seems fine to me.Im a Pontiac fan to,but also Chevy,so why not combine 2 things I like.LOL.Thanks for comments guys.
_________________
hotrod1024 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service