how to turn on shift point with a biondo box

Old 06-14-2009, 08:52 PM
  #1  
mojomal
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 24
Default how to turn on shift point with a biondo box

've been running a mega 450 box for the past year with no problem. I decided to install co2 shifter and now need the shift point option in the box. I've read the 20 page book and configured the wiring correctly (I think) in test mode I can get the it to shift once , again this is in test mode per manual. when I toggle through modes I get to the screen that displays what’s on and off and the shift point is always off can anybody correct what I’m doing wrong ? or would a separate rpm activator box be the way to go?
mojomal is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:00 PM
  #2  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

This topic just came up in another thread and it was mentioned that using the delay box to activate the shifter is illegal in NHRA AND IHRA...so IF you plan to run either of those you may want to use a seperate rpm switch such as MSD.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 10:05 AM
  #3  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

Originally Posted by Tod74
This topic just came up in another thread and it was mentioned that using the delay box to activate the shifter is illegal in NHRA AND IHRA...so IF you plan to run either of those you may want to use a seperate rpm switch such as MSD.
Not sure where this came from, using a timer in the delay box is quite common to shift the car with, especially in Super Comp where it is usually shifted while on the stop, when it comes off the stop it is already in second gear and won't be as violent. It is a fixed time that can not be changed during the run. What they don't want is a computer adjusting the shift point DURING the run to control the ET.

Is it a powerglide? You only need it once.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 10:18 AM
  #4  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by jmarksdragster
Originally Posted by Tod74
This topic just came up in another thread and it was mentioned that using the delay box to activate the shifter is illegal in NHRA AND IHRA...so IF you plan to run either of those you may want to use a seperate rpm switch such as MSD.
Not sure where this came from, using a timer in the delay box is quite common to shift the car with, especially in Super Comp where it is usually shifted while on the stop, when it comes off the stop it is already in second gear and won't be as violent. It is a fixed time that can not be changed during the run. What they don't want is a computer adjusting the shift point DURING the run to control the ET.

Is it a powerglide? You only need it once.
He is correct it can shift by TIME only through the mega series box .. if by rpms its a no no
hammertime is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 10:17 PM
  #5  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

OOPS. ops: I guess I misunderstood, sorry.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 06:27 AM
  #6  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by Tod74
OOPS. ops: I guess I misunderstood, sorry.
No problem

Whats sad is, it seems like weekly someone at local race tracks argue with me that they can shift the car with the delay box by rpms, I explain no, no tach can be hooked to the box it is illegal. They dont understand and prob never will untill they so somewhere that actually techs a car.
hammertime is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service