Plug Wires

Old 06-14-2009, 10:45 AM
  #1  
wetill70
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default Plug Wires

I have a spark plug that is located very close to the header and the heat from the header is burning the plug wire. Is there anything I can do to prevent this or special plug wires I can use?
Thanks for any advice.
wetill70 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 02:07 PM
  #2  
MEMRACING62
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: orland pk il
Posts: 2,429
Default

http://summitracing.com/parts/ACC-170079/
MEMRACING62 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 02:22 PM
  #3  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,140
Default

What kind of car/engine and which cylinder is it? My Nova with BBC has this issue on # 7 I had to make that one wire a lot longer and bring it in from the bottom. Also had to use 45 deg boots instead of 90
Tod74 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 07:21 PM
  #4  
wetill70
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default

My problem is with the #6 spark plug and I am going to try what you said and see if that solves my problem. Thanks for the information. I don't like Centerline either.
wetill70 is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 05:33 PM
  #5  
radicalz
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: out of my mind in Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 179
Default

Originally Posted by wetill70
My problem is with the #6 spark plug and I am going to try what you said and see if that solves my problem. Thanks for the information. I don't like Centerline either.
well try this site they have straight, 90, and 45* boots plus...boot protectors http://www.performancedistributors.com/livewire.htm
radicalz is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 02:25 PM
  #6  
TS1955
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lost Creek, WV
Posts: 533
Default

Accel makes short "Header" plugs. You might try to see if they are available for your application.

TS1955
TS1955 is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 06:50 PM
  #7  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

Get the longer wires and run them all under the headers. Problem solved forever!
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 08:00 PM
  #8  
bbchevy
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fountain,MICHIGAN
Posts: 856
Default Headers

Another thing to Concider?Having your Headers Ceramic Coated,you would NOT Beleive the difference in Outside Header Temp.
NITROPLATE=It WORKS!
Later
G 8)
bbchevy is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -