holley 750 stumble

Old 06-04-2009, 11:34 AM
  #1  
bowhay
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 263
Default holley 750 stumble

ok so when i goose on it in park it stubles for a slit second and then picks up
just cruzing its fine
but when i goose it while driving it stubles very badly especialy from a stop
what could this be?
bowhay is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 11:44 AM
  #2  
THERATTLER
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
THERATTLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: LICKSKILLET , MISSISSIPPI
Posts: 1,473
Default

YOUR GOOSE IS LOOSE :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
THERATTLER is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 12:27 PM
  #3  
CamBirdRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 510
Default

You need bigger squirters and accel pump cams.

And WD40 for your goose. haha.
CamBirdRacing is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:17 PM
  #4  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

I'm waiting for Garrett to tell you what you need to do. lol.
X2 on the squirters, try turning the idle screws out a 1/2 turn, see if that helps.
dparker is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:28 PM
  #5  
onedragracer
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Odessa Texas
Posts: 81
Default

Originally Posted by maniac
YOUR GOOSE IS LOOSE :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Yep it's the loose goose happens all the time
onedragracer is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 09:50 PM
  #6  
bowhay
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 263
Default

the squirters are 31s and james said those were fine
but i just rebuilt it and it didnt fix the problem
and its only doin it one the vacume secondaru kicks in
but the diaphram in it looked fine
so im kinda stumped
bowhay is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 11:25 PM
  #7  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

If James said the 31's were fine then, by all means dont touch them.

It sounds like the secondaries are opening to quick.
They make a adjustable secondary kit so you can adjust on the fly or you can buy the indiviual springs to control the opening rate or speed that it opens the secondaries.

I wouldn't dare touch the squirters though, noway would I even think of trying some bigger ones first, uh uhh, that would be a total waste of time.
cepx111 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 12:05 PM
  #8  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,140
Default

If you have low compression /nearly stock motor the carb could be too big. My first motor I ever built was a .030 over 400 with stock pistons, 2.02 double hump heads and a ERSON HI-FLO 1 hydraulic cam ( .472 lift DUR @ 50 WAS ABOUT 230) I put a brand new 700 DP on it...every time I floored it it fell flat on it's face...ease into it it was fine. That carb had a 50cc pump on the rear.I tried bigger squirters and all that with no luck. I got a 650 DP that was box stock and nearly new...it had the small 30cc pump front and rear...That thing came to life in a big way! Instant throttle response. Car felt 3 times faster too.



edit: I should have read the whole thread beforte reply...didn't know it was a vacume secondary carb. ops:
Tod74 is offline  
Old 06-06-2009, 09:24 AM
  #9  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

How much initial and total timing? Even with a near stock engine they can benefit with more initial timing and a fast curve.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 06-06-2009, 02:35 PM
  #10  
bowhay
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 263
Default

ok
so i went threw it again
and i figured the stuble was the vacume opening the flaps too early, so i disconnected the vacume secondary and made it a mechanical secondary

i was riight it took care of the stumble
but now there is another problem

it wont idle
it acts like all its doin is runnin of the gas that the squirter puts in when i pump the throtle before startin it
is this a float problem?
bowhay is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information