FUEL SPLASH

Old 06-01-2009, 10:12 AM
  #1  
JEFF69Z28
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 496
Default FUEL SPLASH

WHAT ARE THE CHANCES OF FUEL COMING OUT OF THE TUBES ON THE CARB WHEN LEAVING THE STARTING LINE AND CHOKING MY MOTOR FOR A SPLIT SECOND?IS THAT WHY I SEE SOME CARBS WITH A PIECE OF RUBBER TUBE GOING FROM ONE TO THE OTHER.
JEFF69Z28 is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 11:19 AM
  #2  
curtisreed
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
curtisreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KIEFER, OK.
Posts: 1,311
Default

Chances can be very good. That is exactly why it is done.

Curtis
curtisreed is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 01:53 PM
  #3  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

Originally Posted by doorracer
Chances can be very good. That is exactly why it is done.

Curtis

x2 Dave
oldandtired is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 12:31 AM
  #4  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

Just make sure you have it vented on the top somewhere, notch the hose or put a TEE in it.

I've personally never had an issue with mine doing it - I run my bowl level(s) on the lower side of full just for that reason plus my vent tubes are short.

Cp
cepx111 is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 03:36 AM
  #5  
JEFF69Z28
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 496
Default

WELL THE FUEL SPLASH WAS'NT THE PROBLEM IT STILL STUTTERED ON LAUNCH,NOW IM THINKING ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS,ANY THOUGHTS???
JEFF69Z28 is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 05:43 AM
  #6  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

Do you have jet extensions in the Carb?
dparker is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 05:46 AM
  #7  
JEFF69Z28
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 496
Default

YES.I ONLY NEED THEM IN THE REAR,CORRECT?
JEFF69Z28 is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 05:53 AM
  #8  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

yes, I didnt realize it was your car that wasn't idling in the other thread. I think your problem is your still to lean at idle. Do you have removable air bleeds?
dparker is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service