engine trouble

Old 05-22-2009, 10:26 PM
  #1  
greenone60
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
Default engine trouble

i have a sbc 383 that the outer ring on the balancer has come a apart at high rpm say around 6900.the rest of the balancer stayed on the motor and the motor was steal running before i shut it down.do you think there might be some interal damage?
greenone60 is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 01:36 AM
  #2  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

I doubt it.

Pull the old one off and stick a new on there and go racing.
cepx111 is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 04:22 AM
  #3  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default Re: engine trouble

Originally Posted by greenone60
i have a sbc 383 that the outer ring on the balancer has come a apart at high rpm say around 6900.the rest of the balancer stayed on the motor and the motor was steal running before i shut it down.do you think there might be some interal damage?
I've seen this happen before, all has been but there was 1 time I seen it cause a issue. Motor started to have a vibration after, if thats the case shut it off and pull it apart
hammertime is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 07:41 AM
  #4  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

I'd pull the filter, cut it open and check for any bearing material or metals. Just to be on the safe side. Won't take but a few minutes and $10.00 filter.
dparker is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 04:19 AM
  #5  
kbartley
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Staunton,VA.
Posts: 251
Default balancer

x2 what they said.

Kris
kbartley is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 04:25 AM
  #6  
kbartley
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Staunton,VA.
Posts: 251
Default balancer

one more thing check the timing again. if you had a stock balancer the ring may have slipped alittle be fore it came off causing timing to be off. Let us know.
Kris
kbartley is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 11:40 AM
  #7  
TS1955
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lost Creek, WV
Posts: 533
Default

At 6900 rpm's ya might want to get an SFI approved balancer. JMO

TS1955
TS1955 is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 12:35 PM
  #8  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

Sprint cars run with NO BALANCER AT ALL...but their crank most likely cost a bit more than yours.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 12:50 PM
  #9  
greenone60
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
Default

thanks guys for the info, and yes iam getting a sfi balancer.
greenone60 is offline  
Old 05-24-2009, 02:43 PM
  #10  
THERATTLER
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
THERATTLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: LICKSKILLET , MISSISSIPPI
Posts: 1,474
Default

I HAVE BEEN RUNNING WITH NO BALANCER FOR YEARS , JUST HUB FOR BOTTOM PULLY
THERATTLER is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service