What size slicks?

Old 05-09-2009, 10:57 AM
  #1  
ssym
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 71
Default What size slicks?

I have a '66 Chevy II, tubbed in the rear with a 4-link. 3200 Pounds.

Blown SBC, 630 HP, 605 TQ, TH-400

I have a set of 15" x 15" rims. Plenty of room to run 33"x16"s.

Question is, How wide is wide enough? Should I run 14's, 14.5's, 15's? I see people hooking with 10.5's with much more power. I would like to save money and use the rims I have, but how much is overboard?

Is height any more a question than roll out and gear ratio?

I assume D-5 compound or equivelent.

Thanks again. Should have track pics within a month. Long time comin!

Steve
ssym is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 05:35 PM
  #2  
us7race
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tell City, IN
Posts: 356
Default

a 32x14 should do you just fine. What rear gear?
us7race is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 08:42 AM
  #3  
ssym
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 71
Default

3.50's right now. Waiting to see the first 1/4 mile results before I change them.

Steve
ssym is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 01:18 PM
  #4  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default Re: What size slicks?

Originally Posted by ssym
I have a '66 Chevy II, tubbed in the rear with a 4-link. 3200 Pounds.

Blown SBC, 630 HP, 605 TQ, TH-400

I have a set of 15" x 15" rims. Plenty of room to run 33"x16"s.

Question is, How wide is wide enough? Should I run 14's, 14.5's, 15's? I see people hooking with 10.5's with much more power. I would like to save money and use the rims I have, but how much is overboard?

Is height any more a question than roll out and gear ratio?

I assume D-5 compound or equivelent.

Thanks again. Should have track pics within a month. Long time comin!

Steve

14x32's would work, but you mentioned that you wanted to run 15x15 rims. So your probably going to have to run a 16x33. Your tire needs to be an inch wider than your rim width.
dparker is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 02:17 AM
  #5  
ssym
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 71
Default

Any thoughts on the Hoosier Quick TIme Pro DOT tires? They make the same size as my street tires(31-18-15), just curious if they will hook on the track.
ssym is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 05:30 AM
  #6  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,373
Default

Originally Posted by ssym
3.50's right now. Waiting to see the first 1/4 mile results before I change them.

Steve
3.50's ??? Not a good starting point with a 33 tire. Just my opinion. Dave
oldandtired is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 05:41 AM
  #7  
blowninjected540
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 379
Default

Originally Posted by oldandtired
Originally Posted by ssym
3.50's right now. Waiting to see the first 1/4 mile results before I change them.

Steve
3.50's ??? Not a good starting point with a 33 tire. Just my opinion. Dave
x2 456 or even 488 would be my guess with a 33 inch tall tire
blowninjected540 is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 05:43 AM
  #8  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Originally Posted by oldandtired
Originally Posted by ssym
3.50's right now. Waiting to see the first 1/4 mile results before I change them.

Steve
3.50's ??? Not a good starting point with a 33 tire. Just my opinion. Dave
Agreed. 3.50's are a waste of time. At 3200 lbs, you'll need a 5.13 or better with a 33" tire........my Vette with a 575-600hp sbc @2050lbs and a 4.88 gear turned about 7000 rpm at the stripe and 7700 on nitrous with a 33x16
johnracer is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 06:32 AM
  #9  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

Originally Posted by ssym
Any thoughts on the Hoosier Quick TIme Pro DOT tires? They make the same size as my street tires(31-18-15), just curious if they will hook on the track.
They will not hook like a set of slicks. Unless I was running a class that demanded DOT tires, I would run slicks at the track.
dparker is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 10:56 AM
  #10  
ssym
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 71
Default

Thanks guys. I had 4:86's with a spool and put the 3:50's with a locker in for the street. Now I miss the track and plan on building a second third member with the spool and I don't know what gears. I redline at 6300 rpm and thought 4:86 might be a little steep for the 1/4 mile.

Still not decided on what size slicks to run...

I'll have money next week for them and the track soon after!

Steve
ssym is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -