What size slicks?

Old 05-09-2009, 11:57 AM
  #1  
ssym
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 71
Default What size slicks?

I have a '66 Chevy II, tubbed in the rear with a 4-link. 3200 Pounds.

Blown SBC, 630 HP, 605 TQ, TH-400

I have a set of 15" x 15" rims. Plenty of room to run 33"x16"s.

Question is, How wide is wide enough? Should I run 14's, 14.5's, 15's? I see people hooking with 10.5's with much more power. I would like to save money and use the rims I have, but how much is overboard?

Is height any more a question than roll out and gear ratio?

I assume D-5 compound or equivelent.

Thanks again. Should have track pics within a month. Long time comin!

Steve
ssym is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 06:35 PM
  #2  
us7race
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tell City, IN
Posts: 356
Default

a 32x14 should do you just fine. What rear gear?
us7race is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 09:42 AM
  #3  
ssym
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 71
Default

3.50's right now. Waiting to see the first 1/4 mile results before I change them.

Steve
ssym is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 02:18 PM
  #4  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default Re: What size slicks?

Originally Posted by ssym
I have a '66 Chevy II, tubbed in the rear with a 4-link. 3200 Pounds.

Blown SBC, 630 HP, 605 TQ, TH-400

I have a set of 15" x 15" rims. Plenty of room to run 33"x16"s.

Question is, How wide is wide enough? Should I run 14's, 14.5's, 15's? I see people hooking with 10.5's with much more power. I would like to save money and use the rims I have, but how much is overboard?

Is height any more a question than roll out and gear ratio?

I assume D-5 compound or equivelent.

Thanks again. Should have track pics within a month. Long time comin!

Steve

14x32's would work, but you mentioned that you wanted to run 15x15 rims. So your probably going to have to run a 16x33. Your tire needs to be an inch wider than your rim width.
dparker is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 03:17 AM
  #5  
ssym
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 71
Default

Any thoughts on the Hoosier Quick TIme Pro DOT tires? They make the same size as my street tires(31-18-15), just curious if they will hook on the track.
ssym is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 06:30 AM
  #6  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

Originally Posted by ssym
3.50's right now. Waiting to see the first 1/4 mile results before I change them.

Steve
3.50's ??? Not a good starting point with a 33 tire. Just my opinion. Dave
oldandtired is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 06:41 AM
  #7  
blowninjected540
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 379
Default

Originally Posted by oldandtired
Originally Posted by ssym
3.50's right now. Waiting to see the first 1/4 mile results before I change them.

Steve
3.50's ??? Not a good starting point with a 33 tire. Just my opinion. Dave
x2 456 or even 488 would be my guess with a 33 inch tall tire
blowninjected540 is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 06:43 AM
  #8  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Originally Posted by oldandtired
Originally Posted by ssym
3.50's right now. Waiting to see the first 1/4 mile results before I change them.

Steve
3.50's ??? Not a good starting point with a 33 tire. Just my opinion. Dave
Agreed. 3.50's are a waste of time. At 3200 lbs, you'll need a 5.13 or better with a 33" tire........my Vette with a 575-600hp sbc @2050lbs and a 4.88 gear turned about 7000 rpm at the stripe and 7700 on nitrous with a 33x16
johnracer is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 07:32 AM
  #9  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

Originally Posted by ssym
Any thoughts on the Hoosier Quick TIme Pro DOT tires? They make the same size as my street tires(31-18-15), just curious if they will hook on the track.
They will not hook like a set of slicks. Unless I was running a class that demanded DOT tires, I would run slicks at the track.
dparker is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 11:56 AM
  #10  
ssym
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 71
Default

Thanks guys. I had 4:86's with a spool and put the 3:50's with a locker in for the street. Now I miss the track and plan on building a second third member with the spool and I don't know what gears. I redline at 6300 rpm and thought 4:86 might be a little steep for the 1/4 mile.

Still not decided on what size slicks to run...

I'll have money next week for them and the track soon after!

Steve
ssym is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service