Tubes in Micky T's ET Drag

Old 04-23-2009, 11:19 AM
  #1  
Pdmracing
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 53
Default Tubes in Micky T's ET Drag

New to this game, Summit & mickey T says to run the tubes, but RJ race cars book says no way? what do you do?
thanks
Pdmracing is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 05:39 PM
  #2  
BEAST477
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
BEAST477's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,908
Default

I've got tubes in mine. No problems. Running low 9's.
BEAST477 is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 12:40 PM
  #3  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Tubeless for sure. They'll work better.....but they do leak. I run Goodyears tubeless too.
Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 01:26 PM
  #4  
fla1976
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
fla1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,534
Default Tubes

I ran my Hoosiers tubeless and coated the complete inside of the tire with Ivory soap before mounting them. The soap seals the tires without adding weight and never had a problem with the tire leaking down. It's an option.
fla1976 is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 01:28 PM
  #5  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

I've ran both. Car worked the same either way, but Tubes are pretty heavy.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 02:29 PM
  #6  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default

Tubeless all the way. lod school for me no rubbers.
Tubes seem to push on the center more.
I would say whichever you prefer will be just fine........Works both ways.
dparker is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 03:03 AM
  #7  
chevyfireball
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Napier, New Zealand
Posts: 230
Default

Depending on how big your tires are, tubes can effect the way the tires wrinkle on launch. I'd run tubeless if possible.
chevyfireball is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 08:24 PM
  #8  
68bbnova
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 46
Default

I have some steel rally rims I ran tubes in, but now I want to try tubless. What valve stem would I use, now that the hole was drilled to 1/2" ?
68bbnova is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 03:38 AM
  #9  
I972Nova
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orient, OH
Posts: 384
Default

You can get valve stems at Jegs or whereever that will work in a .453 or .625 hole. These are what I had to get with the wheels on my truck, the guy I got them from used tubes.


http://www.jegs.com/i/Detroit+Wheels...900-4/10002/-1
I972Nova is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 07:03 PM
  #10  
68bbnova
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 46
Default

Thanks, Its been a long time since I bolted in all my valve stems, and could not remember how they sealed.
68bbnova is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service