Converter Stall Speed

Old 04-11-2009, 09:23 AM
  #1  
markthespark
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Default Converter Stall Speed

What is the correct way to check your converter stall speed? I have an 8" converter that is rated as a 5500 stall, but want to know what it stalls at in my combination.
markthespark is offline  
Old 04-11-2009, 03:51 PM
  #2  
dparker
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hobbs, NM
Posts: 842
Default Re: Converter Stall Speed

Originally Posted by markthespark
What is the correct way to check your converter stall speed? I have an 8" converter that is rated as a 5500 stall, but want to know what it stalls at in my combination.
Take your chips out. Put your car SECURELY on jack stands. Apply your transbreak and put it to WOT. Your car will stall to its maxium stall.
dparker is offline  
Old 04-11-2009, 06:34 PM
  #3  
markthespark
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Default Stall

I never new you could do it that way. Sounds scary. I always woundered how to do it, know I know, Thanks
markthespark is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 04:07 PM
  #4  
rob41willys
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 115
Default

I made a harness that I can connect to the transbrake button that apply's the brake without worrying about accidentally letting go of the button. And yes you should use jack stands. I'm just scared that I might have a brain fart and let go of the button at wide open throttle.
rob41willys is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 07:29 AM
  #5  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

Originally Posted by rob41willys
I made a harness that I can connect to the transbrake button that apply's the brake without worrying about accidentally letting go of the button. And yes you should use jack stands. I'm just scared that I might have a brain fart and let go of the button at wide open throttle.
I have a Two Step that only goes to 5,500. Should I just unplug it and try it?

Also friend of mine has a wheel drive Pro Stock truck and was checking his convertor while still on his trailer. He let go of the trans button and it was ugly!! He barely manage to keep from hitting his motorhome!!
Please use jack stands or be in an open area!!
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 07:33 AM
  #6  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,140
Default

Do not stay there any longer than it takes to look at the tach....it builds up heat fast.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 07:38 AM
  #7  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Best way to check it is have a playback tach, when you let go of the transbrake the conv will flash to a certain rpm, this is called the stall flash, then the ones that shift from 1-2 can see the rpm after the shift, this is called the stall recovery. BOTH of these are very important in the world of drag racing

IMO pulling a chip is a bad way to go about it but is better then nothing, it will be totally different on the track for stall flash.
hammertime is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 09:20 AM
  #8  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

I have playback tach. Dang thing is hard to get to work right. I have one pass recorded, I'll go look at it again.
I don't shift. Run 1st gear all the way so recovery isn't a problem.
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 09:26 AM
  #9  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by TheRabbit
I have playback tach. Dang thing is hard to get to work right. I have one pass recorded, I'll go look at it again.
I don't shift. Run 1st gear all the way so recovery isn't a problem.
I love to see both on a drag car ET really can be had with both, so I am sure stall flash would be the same with you.
hammertime is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -