How do you tell glide tailshaft

Old 04-02-2009, 09:16 AM
  #1  
slickfuel
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington state
Posts: 61
Default How do you tell glide tailshaft

How do you guys tell if your tailshaft on your aftermarket
cased power glide is rollerized or not ??????

Thanks
Vic
slickfuel is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 11:37 AM
  #2  
ML3885
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 8
Default

it has a roller bearing in it
ML3885 is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 12:26 PM
  #3  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Pull the tailshaft housing off this will shed some light on the roller bearing (note you have to have a different yoke for a rollerized tail housing)for sure and you may be able to tell if it's an after market tail shaft some are marked. I know the 1.82 tail shafts have a counter bore rather than a center in them, also the stock tail shaft are usually black, which means they we machined after heat treating and most after market show a brighter finish on the machining. None of this is fool proof though. Don't always trust the stampings on the end of the rtail shaft, there was an article/thread on here a few months ago where a person bought a supposedly built to the hilt transmission, and the tail shaft was stamped, when he took it apart it was totally stock, meaning somebody scammed someone by stamping #'s on the tail shaft.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 12:37 PM
  #4  
slickfuel
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington state
Posts: 61
Default

Thanks guys,..its a Ried tail shaft,
and a stock yoke fits in it, I know the rollerized yokes are a little smaller diameter than a stock yoke, I just wanted to be sure.
Looksa like I need to really make sure now, and hopefully I havent F`d
it up,..lol..

thanks
Vic
slickfuel is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 08:16 PM
  #5  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

Originally Posted by 4mark
it has a roller bearing in it
Tod74 is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 09:09 PM
  #6  
slickfuel
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington state
Posts: 61
Default

If it is a rollerized bearing tail shaft, then why does a stock yoke
fit in it ????
The stock yoke is sappose to be a few thou larger diameter and you would have to physically force a stock yoke into a rollerized tail housing

Right ???

Thanks
Vic
slickfuel is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 09:25 PM
  #7  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

HUH :?: :?: Are you saying it's rollerized and a stock yoke fits :?:

I'm lost

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 09:31 PM
  #8  
slickfuel
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington state
Posts: 61
Default

Yeppper,
...thats why I asked the original question.
It didnt make any sense to me because I was tolled it was rollerized, but yet a stock yoke fit in it .

I will just pull it apart and check, maybe its a bushing in there.

but thanks
slickfuel is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 07:18 AM
  #9  
ML3885
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 8
Default

chevrolet made two different diameter trans yokes for glides and 350 turbos, one will work with a roller tail housing, because i have it in my car.hope this helps.
ML3885 is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 08:46 AM
  #10  
slickfuel
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington state
Posts: 61
Default

4Mark,..thanks for the input,..

I do not have a rollerized yoke to measure,.

can someone measure the diameter of one for me ????


Thanks
Vic
slickfuel is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service