Adjusting dual carbs HELP!!!!!!!!!!

Old 03-12-2009, 09:28 PM
  #1  
af62cobra
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Default Adjusting dual carbs HELP!!!!!!!!!!

just brought a 89 mustang coupe tunnel ram dual carb set-up car had been thur a couple owners after it was built. They got the carbs out of adjustment need help in getting them close as a Dyno is about 1 1/2 hours away.They are 600 Holleys. The guy that built the car has moved out of the area. So no help their.
af62cobra is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 04:55 AM
  #2  
radicalz
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: out of my mind in Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 179
Default Re: Adjusting dual carbs HELP!!!!!!!!!!

Originally Posted by af62cobra
just brought a 89 mustang coupe tunnel ram dual carb set-up car had been thur a couple owners after it was built. They got the carbs out of adjustment need help in getting them close as a Dyno is about 1 1/2 hours away.They are 600 Holleys. The guy that built the car has moved out of the area. So no help their.

Ok you got to give us more to go with....what size is the motor....heads, etc...the only way I know to do it is do them 1 at a time....setting the idle mixture and making sure the float levels are correct as far as power valves you would have to wait till you got to the dyno to set that part...maybe somebody else can help
radicalz is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 07:58 AM
  #3  
af62cobra
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Default adjusting dual carbs

they are on a 306 FMS F cam e7 that have a tons og port and polish work not sure if stock valves 1.7 rocker arms,I think it's 10:1, i think it has a stock bottem end other than bore.
af62cobra is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 09:59 AM
  #4  
desoto30
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Childers Australia
Posts: 99
Default

first syncronise the throttle butterflies,then go from there
desoto30 is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 11:31 PM
  #5  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

A air flow meter is about the only way to sycronize them things correctly, do the simple stuff first though, level the floats, screw in idle screws then back out 3 full turns as a starting point, jet both carbs the same, etc etc, then once you crank it up, (linkage undone) set the carbs to get the same airflow across both at idle, then adjust linkage out to have zero slack between the 2 carbs.
600cfms are kinda big for a little 302 - 450's would probably work better.
You might just run over that stock bottom end once you get it running.

Goodluck, Cp
cepx111 is offline  
Old 03-20-2009, 07:31 PM
  #6  
stealth20
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default

I know you don't want to hear this.. but those holley 600s suck.... if at all possible change at some point to 660 ctr squirters if possible...

I would take them off, go through them to find out what's all in there (jets Metering block.. etc.. clean all the holes.. set the throttle blades so only a tiny bit of the T-slot is showing and start from there..
stealth20 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service