turbo 350 or glide

Old 03-03-2009, 06:14 AM
  #1  
gearhd14534
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Default turbo 350 or glide

building gasser...stock 454... 9" posi ford with 3:50 gears(street, to and from track)....29"tall mt street/strip radials 10.5 w..car wgt 2600#s..no trans brake.......will run 1/8 and 1/4....turbo or glide?
gearhd14534 is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 03:09 PM
  #2  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

Glide....reason i say this is that it takes much less Hp to turn the Glide..cannot locate but i read somewhere it takes like 30 plus hp to spin a Turbo vs. 5 or 6 hp to spin a Glide.

now donlt qoute me on these numbers but i am sure its a Big difference.

Brian
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 05:18 PM
  #3  
TheYellaBrick
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheYellaBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Emmett, Idaho
Posts: 7,334
Default

I've seen power usage charts but am not able to find one as yet to post on here.
TheYellaBrick is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 05:30 PM
  #4  
fla1976
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
fla1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,535
Default Glide or 350

Here is a site that has some info:
http://www.stockcarracing.com/techar...owerglide.html
fla1976 is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 06:00 AM
  #5  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,140
Default

powerglide

but I'd go steeper on the rear gear because of it.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 09:46 PM
  #6  
gyellow
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11
Default

sry to butt in but im interested as well becuase iam building a street/strip and was goign to put a 400 in my car but was thinking about a glide.. how is a glide on the street? how streetable is it??
gyellow is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 09:56 PM
  #7  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,140
Default

Originally Posted by gyellow
sry to butt in but im interested as well becuase iam building a street/strip and was goign to put a 400 in my car but was thinking about a glide.. how is a glide on the street? how streetable is it??
High gear is 1:1 no matter which way you go...only thing is the lower 1st gear in a 3 speed allows for less gear in the rear which makes for better street driving...

If it is mainly a street car and once in awhile you take it to the track I'd run a three speed...if it is primarily a race car then glide hands down.

JMO I never had a glide on the street.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 06:24 AM
  #8  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

Originally Posted by gyellow
sry to butt in but im interested as well becuase iam building a street/strip and was goign to put a 400 in my car but was thinking about a glide.. how is a glide on the street? how streetable is it??
very streetable..stay with the helical gears like the 1.76 planatery if mainly street driven..the straightcut gears are for racing (1.80 ratio is most popular)

many cars from the past ran Glides on the street.
Bottom line a glide is gonna free up valuable engine HP
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 07:56 AM
  #9  
gyellow
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11
Default

awesome well it looks like a found my tranny of choice haha... what can a stock glide handle for power?
gyellow is offline  
Old 03-15-2009, 01:43 PM
  #10  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

stock 176 planateries can handle 800hp on the strip no problems
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -