New powerglide W/ Alum Hipster pro brake ISSUE

Old 09-29-2008, 06:02 AM
  #1  
Benningtonr
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Default New powerglide W/ Alum Hipster pro brake ISSUE

Just built a new PG, well the case is a used case. New everything. First time at the track with it was sat, pre-staged, waited, and then staged. Hit the trans-brake button, car lunges back about 2 inches, then grabs. Rev clutches are set at .060 as per Hipster instructions, band was adjusted 73 the back 3 1/2. I have always used AW32 in my trannies with great success. Fluid level was spot on, and again, brake and solenoid was new.

Any Ideas????
Benningtonr is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 08:03 AM
  #2  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default Re: New powerglide W/ Alum Hipster pro brake ISSUE

Originally Posted by benningtonr
Just built a new PG, well the case is a used case. New everything. First time at the track with it was sat, pre-staged, waited, and then staged. Hit the trans-brake button, car lunges back about 2 inches, then grabs. Rev clutches are set at .060 as per Hipster instructions, band was adjusted 73 the back 3 1/2. I have always used AW32 in my trannies with great success. Fluid level was spot on, and again, brake and solenoid was new.

Any Ideas????
Common issue with new Hipster valve bodies, you need to put a pressure gauge on it and see what it is, should be around 200. If its not you either have a bad pump or valve body.
hammertime is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 10:20 AM
  #3  
us7race
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tell City, IN
Posts: 356
Default

I run the AW32 also with good success. I think I would just tighten up the band about 1/2 a turn and see what happens. There is nothing majorly wrong with the trans. I agree that you adjusted the band properly that is the same specs I use (72 inch pounds 3.5 turns out). Maybe it was just a little twisted when it was adjusted who knows. Like I said I would just turn it in about 1/2 a round and try it see what happens.. If that does not fix it I know there is a valve in the valvebody that can stick it caused mine at one time to rev up between gears and then try to back up..too the valveout and cleaned then it was fixed..
us7race is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 02:52 PM
  #4  
sg1586
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 185
Default

What is your high clutch pack clearance???
sg1586 is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 04:41 PM
  #5  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Really sounds like a band issue to me. Since the band adjustment is correct, maybe a broken ring on the servo piston? Just a thought....
johnracer is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service