Phase Converter

Old 09-07-2008, 08:01 PM
  #1  
lanham
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: berea,ky
Posts: 184
Default Phase Converter

Can anyone tell me what the best and cheapest way to go on converting to 3 phase power.Are static converters any good? This is going to power a 7.5hp lathe.Thanks
lanham is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 09:12 PM
  #2  
kwkracing
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: austin texas
Posts: 729
Default lathe

I would highly not recommened using a static converter. i have been running a 2 hp motor with them. I have tried atleast 4 diff brands and none last any longer than another. They have all lasted about 2 months at a time with just occasional use. Get a rotary converter or buy a big single phase motor and be done with it, thats what i finally did.
kwkracing is offline  
Old 09-07-2008, 09:43 PM
  #3  
rob41willys
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 115
Default

Rotary converter for sure.
rob41willys is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 08:35 PM
  #4  
lanham
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: berea,ky
Posts: 184
Default rotary setup

What kind of rotary setups are you guys using.
lanham is offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 09:15 PM
  #5  
rob41willys
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 115
Default

I had a local guy build mine. cost me $500.00 but I already had a big 3-phase motor. That was several years ago. but still running fine.
rob41willys is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 02:04 PM
  #6  
racecrafter
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29
Default

rotary converters are better for high horsepower aps but I have been running an electronic phase converter on my 5 horse mill for about 7 years and still going strong .....just make sure you wire it right and use big enough wire...in and out....it has been so long since I have looked at it that I don't remember what brand it is but I will try to remember to look and let you know the next time I log on. With 7.5 horse you are on the edge of what I would run with an electronic though.
racecrafter is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 08:23 PM
  #7  
shinyblackpaint
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8
Default PHASE CONVERTOR

I built my own roto-phase years ago. Very simple. First one was a 5 hp. It ran two lathes and a mill. I sold one old lathe and the roto-phase. So I built a 10 hp. I then got some more machines (and larger) so I sold the 10 hp and built a 20 hp. It ran my entire machine shop. 3 mills, 3 lathes.
Just need a bank of capacitors on the manufactured leg. That takes a little playing around with different size micro-farat to end up with a close to balanced voltage across the legs. The more motors running at one time makes it more efficient and balanced voltage. I would always start the larger motor first then start up any smaller ones. Worked awesome until I got some CNC equipment then the power just wasn't clean enough for that so finally brought 3 phase in the shop. However they are the best thing for running electric motors.............the more the better.
shinyblackpaint is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service