cam size help...for 350

Old 09-05-2008, 09:26 PM
  #1  
bigray
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chelsea Oklahoma
Posts: 558
Default cam size help...for 350

we have a 89 chevy block.13.1 steel crank yada yada.the heads are 2.02 dbl hump with some porting.it will be running alcohol.930 carb.kooks headers 1 7/8 tube.single plane intake.i allready have a set of hyd roller lifters from comp cams.so i would like to go hyd roller again.or i can go a differant route.just looking for some input.
bigray is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 11:54 PM
  #2  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Hey Ray,

I don't know how heavy of a vehicle you have, But both Jimmy Smith and i have had good luck with bullit cams and for the small cu.in. engines we run anywhere between .625 and .640 lift ground on 106 lobe ctrs. and installed at 102. In fact Jimmy runs a 355 flattop motor with hilborn stacks that runs 6.40's in a 2920lb with driver Camero. I run a 377" with a toilet bowl in my Malibu that weighs 3250lbs with driver and it will run 6.50's. now in my case the cam is too big .660 lift, and kills the torque a bit. I have a .624/.624X106 lobe ctrs. i'm sure would drop me about a tenth, but i'm getting ready to drop in my 434, so i don't want make the change.
I don't know if they grind a hydraulic roller that big or not since i've never run them, also i don't know if the low spring pressure will allow you to run to 7200 RPM's that you need to run to make a small engine perform at it's best.

Here is a cam listed by Ultadyne (owned by bullit) that will fit your application perfectly.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Chevy...=p4506.c0.m245


JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 06:51 AM
  #3  
bigray
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chelsea Oklahoma
Posts: 558
Default

thanks for the reply. i do have a compcam part # 08-470-8 its 314int 314exh dur @.050 252int and 252 exh and has .600 lift on int and .600 lift on exh lobe sep of 110 would this be a good choice .and its a hyd roller.and the car weighs 2500 total
bigray is offline  
Old 09-06-2008, 01:43 PM
  #4  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

With that weight i think you can probably get away with the 110 lobe seperation. I would atleast try it since you already have it. If it's a little sluggish on the 60' times you can alway back it down a little maybe install it at 107/108 and it shouldn't hurt the top end that much.

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service