Water in Head??

Old 08-06-2008, 08:08 PM
  #1  
dynaguy03
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 133
Default Water in Head??

I dyno'd my motor last week. I have it in the garage with the bag over it. Tonight i removed a valve cover to install different valve cover gaskets and noticed small area's of clear looking water.. in a few low areas of the head. It doesnt look like a milkshake... is this just condensation or should i be worried.. the other head didnt look exactly the same. If the dyno was using just water would it look clear if there was some kind of leak??

thanks
Keith
dynaguy03 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 10:18 PM
  #2  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Could be condensation, where i live it's so humid if you cover a motor with plastic, the next day every thing is rusted, even in the summer, i've got 2 blks right now that i have to clean or revat, from storing them in my shop over the winter.
Do a pressure test on the cooling system, if there is no leakdown, it's probably condensation.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:49 AM
  #3  
dynaguy03
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 133
Default water in head

I wish i could pressure test it... i havent installed it into the car yet since last weeks dyno session
dynaguy03 is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 09:23 AM
  #4  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

Originally Posted by dynaguy03
I wish i could pressure test it... i havent installed it into the car yet since last weeks dyno session
it does not need to be installed tp preasure test it. just hook the hoses to a radiator that don't leak sitting in the floor or fabricate a tube that will accept the cap/tester and loop the water pump to the thermostat housing.

Pull the drain plug and watch it drain...If there is water in the oil it will come out first
Tod74 is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 07:04 PM
  #5  
kwkracing
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: austin texas
Posts: 729
Default

Does the engine have head studs or bolts?
kwkracing is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 07:26 PM
  #6  
dynaguy03
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 133
Default KW...

KW. i have heads studs no bolts...
dynaguy03 is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 06:21 AM
  #7  
kwkracing
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: austin texas
Posts: 729
Default

are they leaking inside the heads? Maybe thats were this lil bit of water came from, i know they are bad about getting them to seal even when a good coat of sealer is applied. Just a thought. goodluck!
kwkracing is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service