for super gas cannot get a good lite

Old 07-08-2008, 07:09 PM
  #1  
cs
Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34
Default for super gas cannot get a good lite

have a s. gas bodied car and can not get close to a good lite
have nothing in box
have a 5400 convertor ---sbc approx 690 hp --car weights 2200 lbs
leaving at 4800
works good on a 500 pro tree----but last dog at a 400 pro tree

need some suggestions ops: ops:
cs is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 07:25 PM
  #2  
topcat572
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port Sulphur, La.
Posts: 139
Default lights

Are You running a Pro tree brake?
topcat572 is offline  
Old 07-08-2008, 07:53 PM
  #3  
cs
Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34
Default

yes
cs is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 05:06 AM
  #4  
us7race
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tell City, IN
Posts: 356
Default

Are you heads up racing? I run a BTE Bracket brake..I done some of this on a .400 tree and had alot of fun. I always left as soon as I seen any yellow and could cut between .030 and .060 lights pretty consistantly. I did move my transbrake button to the shifter for a 1 finger operation.. :lol:
us7race is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 05:23 AM
  #5  
sg1586
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 185
Default

Old car??? Could be your set up or an worn out car........
sg1586 is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 06:22 AM
  #6  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

Have you tried going in last and leaving on the stage bulbs? :P

Why is it better to have the button on the shifter vs the wheel? other than to prevent accidentally hitting it?
Tod74 is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 07:46 AM
  #7  
curtisreed
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
curtisreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KIEFER, OK.
Posts: 1,311
Default

CS,
I think this is something that will be hard to diagnose on the forum. It could be something a simple as a slow button, needing stiff wall slicks, etc.... Or you could be needing a fourlink change. Some things to look at are, tying down your front end, check for slack in your suspension, do not use a relay for controlling the trans brake solenoid if you are, look at the length of movement on your button, try putting some weight to pop the front tires up out of the beams or four link change whichever, shorter front tires. See where I am going with this, there are many, many variables and they are all different on each chassis. Are you needing to pick up a couple of hundreths or six or?

Curtis
curtisreed is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 11:30 AM
  #8  
cs
Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34
Default

THANKS I AGREE--WE CHANGED BUTTON ECT
THIS IS A CHASSIS CAR ALL ELSE WORKS GOOD RUNS 8,S IF WE WANT TOO
WILL TRY GOING OFF CONVERTOR OR STAGE DEEPER WHO KNOWS
JUST THOUGHT I COULD GET AN ANSWER OF SOMETHING WE OVERLOOKED
cs is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 02:36 PM
  #9  
I972Nova
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orient, OH
Posts: 384
Default

Leaving on the converter should be good for a little bit, I usally have to add .015 to my box from the chip to the converter. On my dads car we had to run a REALLY short tire 22" to get it to go minus on the tree.

How far off are you? Staging deep can be very inconsistent.
I972Nova is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 05:01 PM
  #10  
cs
Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 34
Default

high 30,s is as low we can go
cannot go lower on tire due to getting in out of trailer
going to try on convertor and stage deeper ---can only go red ha ha

thanks
cs is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service