Alky VS Gas

Old 06-17-2008, 12:54 AM
  #1  
jrthone
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Posts: 122
Default Alky VS Gas

Ive got a 632 BBC, 15.5 CR with BB3 Xtra heads ported. Im currently running a Birdcatcher enderle alky injection on a ram. I have been offerd to swap for a Dart tunnel tall deck ram with Twin 1360 Chuck nuytten modified Dominators on C16 race fuel. What do you guys think? Now this is my first drag motor also. Is it worth it????
jrthone is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 06:30 AM
  #2  
fennerflyer
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default

You will make more horsepower on gas. I would switch to a fuel like C-14 or C-14+ instead of the C-16 however.
fennerflyer is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 07:05 AM
  #3  
mytmouz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mytmouz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pelahatchie, MS
Posts: 996
Default

Time to get the popcorn...
mytmouz is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 09:51 AM
  #4  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default Re: Alky VS Gas

Originally Posted by jrthone
Ive got a 632 BBC, 15.5 CR with BB3 Xtra heads ported. Im currently running a Birdcatcher enderle alky injection on a ram. I have been offerd to swap for a Dart tunnel tall deck ram with Twin 1360 Chuck nuytten modified Dominators on C16 race fuel. What do you guys think? Now this is my first drag motor also. Is it worth it????

It takes the right setup on a bigger motor 600+ inch's. Mainly the cam for alky, there is a difference which most dont realize. I wouldnt be suprised to see that size of a motor with 2 gas dominators pick up HP for sure. I am going to disagree going to C-14, run C-16 in it. Remember the cost difference in alky vs the c-16. Both can be made to work to there potential but its harder with the alky just because it takes a perfect cam.
hammertime is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 12:51 PM
  #5  
fennerflyer
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default

You can run the C16 in this engine without a problem, however you will be leaving power on the table. C16 is designed for forced induction engines or nitrous engines not naturally asperated engines. If yougo to VP's website and look at their fuel recomendations you can pick the fuel that you need for the application that you have. also if you still have questions you can call their tech line and they are pretty helpfull. If you run the C16 and the C14 or C14+ back to back on the dyno with this engine combo I will bet the farm that the 14 will make more power and still be very safe against detonation.
fennerflyer is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 12:51 PM
  #6  
tcarda
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Big Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 162
Default

I agree with Hammertime on not using the C14 or C14+. But I would use Q16 instead of C16. My dyno guy gained 20 hp on his 540 by changing from C16 to Q16. He had to jet 3 or 4 sizes. I also know of a lot of people switching over to the Q16. I don't know any prices on it, but I believe it is a little expensive though.
tcarda is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 01:06 PM
  #7  
jrthone
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wellington , New Zealand
Posts: 122
Default

I will do that. How about the induction systems tho????
jrthone is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service