AMP true to their words: "Heat it up" at Beebe Spe

Old 06-09-2008, 03:02 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 64
Default AMP true to their words: "Heat it up" at Beebe Spe


Wendy Bohonek
AMP Series Press Release


The AMP race held at Beebe Speedway, Beebe AR lived up to its advertised title and more. With temperatures reaching the mid 90's in the area, twenty-one super late model drivers pulled the belts a little tighter as they geared up for thier heat race action. With two and three wide, down to the wire racing, we were served with an appetizer that was sure to lead to an exquisite main dish.

Heat one action saw AMP points leader Allen Tippen, Minden LA and Rookie of the Year contender Jeff Wells Jr, Trumman AR battle for the top finishing spot with two laps to go, while close behind “Charging Charlie” Cole, Marianna AR and Clay Fisher, DeWitt AR were taking care of business and moving forward. Veteran driver Wayne Skinner, held his own as well as Rachel York, Southhaven MS, as they finished fifth and sixth respectivly.

Heat two got underway as another loaded field made their way onto the track.Tommy Surrett gained an early lead with Jon Mitchell, Texarkana TX hot on his heel.

As they challenged each other Shane Diamant, Maumelle AR began to reel them in, and when the leader Surrett bobbled between turns three and four, both Mitchell and Diamant were able to get around him. Diamant took a little ride through the infield as he challenged Mitchell for the lead while crossing the start finish line, but held on, and finished second to Mitchell. Surrett was able to gather himself up finishing third, and brought hard charging Terry Henson, N Little Rock and Ian Samuel, Trumann AR with him.

Heat three brought to the table a mixture of the very young in Dalton Alexander to the seasoned Dewaine Hottinger, Russellville AR, with a mixture of the established talent of Kyle Beard, Trumann AR, Billy Moyer Jr, Batesville AR, and Jon Kirby, Russellville AR, all hungry and ready to devour the 1/4 mile track. Beard took command of the lead with Hottinger close behind as Kirby and Moyer Jr ran side by side all the way to the finish line where I am glad that I didn't have to make the call of who crossed the line first it was that close.

There was only a moment to catch your breath, as the drivers in heat four were on the track and making the dirt fly again. Gary Scott Christian, Broken Arrow OK took the number one spot as Allen Murry, San Antonio TX fell in behind. Christian and Murry pulled away from the pack as the trio, Mike Leal, Andy Hockenhull, Conway AR, and Kenny Basco, Malvern AR fought for the same piece of real estate. The eight words of "We are HUNGRY and the HEAT IS ON!, would have easily summed up the heat race action, but what is fine dining without a great appetizer? When it was time for the main dish to be served I didn't pull up my normal chair in the stands, but rather, was given the opportunity to dine in the infield.

The main event was served up in AMP fashion with driver introductions, command to start engines, and the four wide salute to the fans. With the caution light out, the original AMP flagman Will Essex dropped the green flag and we soon found ourselves elbow deep in some finger licking good racing. Mitchell, Beard, Diamant, and Tippen mixed it up for the top four spots and began to pull away from the rest of the field, while Hottinger, Wells Jr, Moyer Jr, Cole, and Henson grouped together to battle for the fifth thru tenth spots. Watching the race from the infield one gets an interesting taste of how much upper body work these drivers do as they manuver through the turns. I was also privy to a sneak peak of Gary Scott Christian's character after an early caution which brought him into the infield via the hook. While they worked on his car to get him off the hook, and sheet metal adjusted, Christian held his cool, let them do what they needed to do, and didn't hesitate to speed off leaving a wake of dust just in time to rejoin the field as the racing action resumed. Kyle Beard also showed good character by not giving up when spun out while running in the second postition, went to the back of the pack, and rebounded with a ninth place finish. As the laps quickly passed by it was all Jon Mitchell who held his line and sailed past the flag stand as the double checkers flew. As always, when I am a guest of the AMP family, I leave the track satisfied and well feed with some of the best racing there is in the area.

Heat One Starting Order: Allen Tippen, Jeff Wells Jr, Rachel York, Charlie Cole, Wayne Skinner, and Clay Fisher

Heat One Finishing Order: Allen Tippen, Jeff Wells Jr, Charlie Cole, Clay Fisher, Wayne Skinner, and Rachel York

Heat Two Starting Order: Ian Samuel, Tommy Surrett, Jon Mitchell, Terry Henson, and Shane Diamant

Heat Two Finishing Order: Jon Mitchell, Shane Diamant, Tommy Surrett, Terry Henson, and Ian Samuel

Heat Three Starting Order: Kyle Beard, Dalton Alexander, Dewaine Hottinger, Jon Kirby, and Billy Moyer Jr

Heat Three Finishing Order: Kyle Beard, Dewaine Hottinger, Moyer Jr, Jon Kirby, and Dalton Alexander

Heat Four Starting Order: Allen Murry, Gary Scott Christian, Andy Hockenhull, Mike Leal, and Kenny Basco

Heat Four Finishing Order: Gary Scott Christian, Allen Murry, Mike Lear, Andy Hockenhull, and Kenny Basco

Heat Winners Were: Allen Tippen, Jon Mitchell, Kyle Beard, and Gary Scott Christian

Feature Starting Grid:

5, 58X

76, 71A

86, 65,

1S, 2X

21JR, 13

2C, 99

U2, 11K

95H, 7

86B, 3D

B79, 27

Feature Finishing Order:

5 Jon Mitchell, Texarkana TX

65 Dewaine Hottinger, Russellville AR

71A Allen Tippen, Minden LA

76 Shane Diamant, Maumell, AR

1S Jeff Wells Jr, Trumann AR

U2 Terry Henson, N Little Rock AR

21JR Billy Moyer Jr, Batesville AR

2C Charlie Cole, Marianna AR

86 Kyle Beard, Trumann AR

11K Jon Kirby, Russellville AR

99 Clay Fisher, DeWitt AR

7 Wayne Skinner, Stuttgart, AR

13 Mike Leal, Omaha, NE

86B Ian Samuel, Trumann AR

58X Gary Scott Christian, Broken Bow OK

3D Dalton Alexander, West Memphis, AR

B79 Kenny Basco, Malvern AR

2X Allen Murry, San Antonio TX

95H Andy Hockenhull, Conway AR

27 Tommy Surrett, Little Rock, AR

11 Rachel York, Southhaven MS

GRT Pole Sitter Award was credited to 5 Jon Mitchell, Texarkana TX

Shaw Hard Charger Award was credited to U2 Terry Henson, N Little Rock AR

AMP Next Events-

June 13 Batesville Speedway, Locust Grove, ARK

June 14 I-30 Speedway, Little Rock, ARK


For more information on the AMP Series, log on to

AMP Series would like to thank our Marketing Partners and encourage all racer, fans and friends to visit with them during the 2008 race season.

AMP Series members/drivers that compete 80% during 2008 with paid membership will be able to have a chance of winning a 28 foot Lift Gate Stacker Trailer presented by Blue Ridge Trailers Inc of Canton, Texas.

The “Official Graphics” of the AMP Series, : Blue Ridge Trailers, Inc. Team GRT, Larry Shaw Racing, Mike McNay DBA – SnapOn Tool’s, Smiley’s Racing Products, Hoosier Tire Southwest, Duralite Wheels, Wulff Pumps, Smith Towing, William Gould Racing, Race on Driving Experience, Kenny Morden Racing,,, Victory Lane Web Designs,, Smith Towing and Recovery of Minden, La, The Contingency Connection,, GRT by Catman
pitprincess is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -