Timing on 620" BBC

Old 05-02-2008, 06:13 PM
  #1  
lmchevy
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 68
Default Timing on 620" BBC

Where would you run your timing on a 14.8-1 620" BBC and be safe.It is carburated on gas and n/a.Thanks
lmchevy is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:25 PM
  #2  
topcat572
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port Sulphur, La.
Posts: 139
Default timing

I ll get the ball rolling for the other guys to chime in, What head are You running, I hear the ones with the smaller chambers use less timing,Anyone? I run 37 now on a 572 conventional head.
topcat572 is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 07:03 PM
  #3  
lmchevy
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 68
Default head

I have the Pro1 355 cnc heads.119cc chambers.
lmchevy is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 07:14 PM
  #4  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

i have a 632 with 14 degree big chief heads on gas...it likes 34.

as they say start off conservative and work up...i will go out on a limb and say 32 would be a ( extra) safe place to start and go from there if it were mine and no dyno records to show sweet spot with timing

Brian
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 08:16 PM
  #5  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

I used to put my gas motors around 39-40, on the dyno last year my motor shop at the time started at 32. I sat back and just watched sure enough it made more hp at 34 then at 39. Every motor is different
hammertime is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 08:51 AM
  #6  
LuckyDawgRacing
Member
CRAFTSMAN
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 53
Default

I'm at 36 on alky
LuckyDawgRacing is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 03:28 PM
  #7  
tcarda
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Big Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 162
Default Re: Timing on 620" BBC

Originally Posted by lmchevy
Where would you run your timing on a 14.8-1 620" BBC and be safe.It is carburated on gas and n/a.Thanks
My engine that has 355 heads on it likes 38. Is there a engine dyno you can take it to and find out what it likes?
tcarda is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 04:17 PM
  #8  
lmchevy
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 68
Default timing

Tcarda i probably could go and put it on a chassis dyno.
lmchevy is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 04:20 PM
  #9  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default Re: timing

Originally Posted by lmchevy
Tcarda i probably could go and put it on a chassis dyno.
chassis dyno probably would not tell you what your looking for since there is no telling how much HP is being lost thru the chassis.
my advise is save your time and money on the chassis dyno for this purpose.


Brian
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 07:36 PM
  #10  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default Re: timing

Originally Posted by bjuice
Originally Posted by lmchevy
Tcarda i probably could go and put it on a chassis dyno.
chassis dyno probably would not tell you what your looking for since there is no telling how much HP is being lost thru the chassis.
my advise is save your time and money on the chassis dyno for this purpose.


Brian
That's a good point but I have a question.
Wouldn't the chasis dyno still allow you to see a gain or a loss from a timing adjustment? I mean, regardless of what it is making at the crankshaft, if it is showing say 500 hp 400 ft lbs on the chasis dyno, and you advance the timing 1 or two degrees, then run it again, take a reading,then retard it and run it again..take another reading...wouldn't this allow you to find the timing that makes the most power?
Regardless if the hp numbers are bogus...as long as they are consistantly bogus...wouldn't that allow you to find the tune up?
Not arguing here...just asking.
Tod74 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service