Predator carb?

Old 04-25-2008, 10:23 PM
  #1  
bbcheat
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Default Predator carb?

Everyone on this site should pat themselves on the back. I am always impressed with the knowledge and attitudes on this site. I have a predator without the idle circuits. Don't laugh, I know it is ancient but it interests me. I have a 3000 lb Nova with a high comp 427, 4200 stall, 3.89gears. How would it work? Thanks!!
bbcheat is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 12:28 AM
  #2  
olds48
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montvale, VA
Posts: 1,431
Default

Predator?Is that the square looking carb with the eagle on it?They look so cooll!I always wanted to try one!
olds48 is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 12:48 AM
  #3  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,140
Default

I remember those...aren't they supposed to be like unlimited cfm or something off the wall like that? man haven't seen one of them in years. interested to hear how that works.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 06:22 AM
  #4  
tcarda
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Big Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 162
Default

My cousin had a 427 with a two carb predator setup on it and it ran exrtremely well.
tcarda is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 08:54 PM
  #5  
prostreet1972
Member
JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Newcomerstown, OH
Posts: 33
Default

I really want to know about the predator carb. also!! sorry about not helping. Seems like the carb would be perfect on any engine in theory. It gives it the right amount of gas at all times, seems too good to be true.

Somebody, please help.
prostreet1972 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 05:26 AM
  #6  
coloradoracerguy
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 120
Default

Just thought I'd chime in on this one. I used to take care of the bulletin board for Dale Barlet (he owns Predator), and the majority of his tech calls and posts. Haven't done that in a while, although a couple of years ago he offered the company to me. I just didn't have the capital to do the deal..........Sucks because it was a smoking deal and included a bunch of CNC machines.............Anyway, pm me and I'll help you out all I can. I'd do it now, but only have a few minutes before I'm off to Denver for the day. (I live in Steamboat Springs) I'll post on the forum as well, after I've helped you out. Easier for me that way, I'll just cut and paste. You can email me too if you choose: [email protected]

Mark
coloradoracerguy is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 05:35 AM
  #7  
topsportsman1
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Maine,USA
Posts: 1,208
Default

http://www.predatorcarb.com/home.html
__________________
There Is 1 Thing Better Than Cubic Inches,,,More Of Them
topsportsman1 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 09:18 AM
  #8  
topcat572
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port Sulphur, La.
Posts: 139
Default predator

Bud had 1 on his 68 camaro with a 427, ran very well for the earlt 80s, and yes, it did attract attention. :lol:
topcat572 is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 11:11 PM
  #9  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

It was the only carb the original BIGFOOT would use and he kicked butt with it for many years.
I was always under the impression it was more of a torque carb, not much top end. Cp
cepx111 is offline  
Old 05-22-2008, 10:00 PM
  #10  
bbcheat
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks, everyone! What little research I have done they work on a variable venturi principle. Idea is great but I cannot find anyone in my area who has run one.
bbcheat is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service