powerglide or th400?

Old 04-23-2008, 03:10 PM
  #1  
badpinto1
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Default powerglide or th400?

Hello all,This my first post on the forum,does anyone know if it is better to run a glide or a th400.We are going to have a 125" altered with a 632 on alky and the rear gears are now around 4.30's with 33"x15" slicks.some are saying the low gear in the th400 is to low and will cause too hard of a launch but some say the opposite.Any ideas?thanks,Howard

ok, now the question would be why do the alcohol funny cars and such run three speeds instead of the two speeds? let me know Howard
badpinto1 is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 06:57 PM
  #2  
rob41willys
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 115
Default

Powerglide!!!
rob41willys is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 06:57 PM
  #3  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

powerglide.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 07:41 PM
  #4  
suicidebomb
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Independence, Missouri
Posts: 1,188
Default

Powerglide.
suicidebomb is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 01:19 AM
  #5  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

POWERGLIDE ALL THE WAY.
cepx111 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 01:06 PM
  #6  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

Your question has one answer, Powerglide. The only reasons to run more is when an engine has a limited powerband, like a Comp engine, excessively heavy cars, severely underpowered engines, and combo's with incorrect gearing and/or converter stall. Your altered will blow through first too fast, not to mention the weight loss going to the glide as well as lower HP loss through the glide.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 04:11 PM
  #7  
suicidebomb
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Independence, Missouri
Posts: 1,188
Default

What he said! AND you only have to shift once!
suicidebomb is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 06:31 PM
  #8  
us7race
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tell City, IN
Posts: 356
Default

go with a Glide!!
us7race is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 07:42 PM
  #9  
kwkracing
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: austin texas
Posts: 729
Default 400 in dragster

I have been wondering the same thing. I am fixing to try a 400 in my 290" injected dragster. I talked to Coan Transmission and they said it was a bad idea, it would shock the tires. I talked to JW Transmission and they told me no problem, that alot of injected guys are using 400's in dragsters that are on a budget. They also said i may see a higher et than with a powerglide but more mph!
http://www.precisionperformance.com/home.htm This company makes a nice slender 400 reverse pattern air shifted shifter.
kwkracing is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service