1/2 or 5/8 rear wheel studs

Old 03-23-2008, 07:34 AM
  #1  
deepockets
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 62
Default 1/2 or 5/8 rear wheel studs

i currently have 1/2 wheel studs on strange 35 spline axles. i really dont want to buy new axles to go to the larger studs if i dont need to. im i ok whit what i have. 1000 hp, glide, 2650 weight on car 15-33 slicks. thanks
deepockets is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 08:41 AM
  #2  
suicidebomb
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Independence, Missouri
Posts: 1,188
Default re; wheel studs

With that kind of horsepower I*d get the biggest stud I could get. But you don*t need new axles.
suicidebomb is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 09:24 AM
  #3  
itsabird
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 812
Default

in this case i would go bigger, it,s better to have it, and not need it, than need it, and not have it, with that kind of hp, i would want it.!!!
itsabird is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 10:14 AM
  #4  
topcat572
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port Sulphur, La.
Posts: 139
Default studs

I got 5/8 on my digger with less hp, yes move up, You wont be sorry. 8)
topcat572 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 11:35 AM
  #5  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

NO QUESTION....5/8!!
Tod74 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 01:19 PM
  #6  
lively
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
lively's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 2,191
Default

???--DO YOU HAVE TO DRILL OUT YOUR ALUMINUM RIMS BIGGER OR IS THE LUG NUT SHANK JUST THINNER???
lively is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 02:40 PM
  #7  
itsabird
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 812
Default

lug nut,s for 5/8 will not have a shank.
itsabird is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 06:29 PM
  #8  
deepockets
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 62
Default

the wheels will still work, wondering if the axls will be ok to br drilled, or are they hardened after there done from manufacture. i guess i can call strange tommorow
deepockets is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 07:37 PM
  #9  
sg5492
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Leavenworth, Kansas
Posts: 35
Default Re: studs

Originally Posted by topcat572
I got 5/8 on my digger with less hp, yes move up, You wont be sorry. 8)
I have less HP in my 69 and have 5/8
sg5492 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 10:09 PM
  #10  
suicidebomb
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Independence, Missouri
Posts: 1,188
Default

They can be drilled.
suicidebomb is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service