Throttle Linkage ?

Old 03-18-2008, 03:34 PM
  #1  
keb1
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Default Throttle Linkage ?

Engine: 496 BBC
Carb: "Quik Fuel" 950 cfm Holley
-
My present gas pedal to carb linkage is just a hollow rod.
Both ends are female taps.
I have small clevis ends threaded into each end.
Also a pretty cheap throttle return bracket with 2 springs.
I have seen a multiltude of throttle linksage brackets from various
companies in the Summit / Jegs catalogs.
Some can get pretty pricey.
I have no plans on using a throttle stop.
I run IHRA "NO BOX" class
Can anyone suggest one that they are happy with?
keb1 is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 05:45 PM
  #2  
bigs1975
Member
CRAFTSMAN
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bastrop,TxBy way of Alabama
Posts: 64
Default

The Jegs bracket with the return springs are very nice.Alot like the CSR peice.For $60 it can't be beat.
bigs1975 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 09:09 PM
  #3  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,579
Default throttle linkage

Contact Ron owens on here he just set me up with a throttle linkage, ran it tonight, worked great!!
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 09:40 PM
  #4  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

Originally Posted by bigs1975
The Jegs bracket with the return springs are very nice.Alot like the CSR peice.For $60 it can't be beat.
x2
Tod74 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 02:31 PM
  #5  
keb1
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Default

I couldn't find Ron Owens phone or email.
The members list (In the Help forum didn't give his name)
I am definetly interested.
Keith B.
keb1 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 03:16 PM
  #6  
curtisreed
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
curtisreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KIEFER, OK.
Posts: 1,312
Default

http://www.ronowensracing.com/
curtisreed is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 04:58 PM
  #7  
jaht1320
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Default

What's wrong with running solid linkage? As long as you have solid motor mounts, I would stick with what you have.
jaht1320 is offline  
Old 04-07-2008, 07:06 PM
  #8  
olds48
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montvale, VA
Posts: 1,431
Default

Solid linkage with a toe hook.Only way to go IMHO
olds48 is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 09:52 AM
  #9  
bryanm
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 79
Default

I run a bracket I hot from Holcomb Motorsports. It has the double rerturn spring attached to it and is in a polished aluminum finish. It is a very nice piece and I payed $110 for the bracket and a cable.
bryanm is offline  
Old 04-08-2008, 10:41 PM
  #10  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

It doesn't matter what you run for linkage, just make sure you have a toe hook to bring the throttle cable/rod back to "0" it's the quickest respond to a stuck throttle on the top end.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service