THE VETTE BREATHES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Old 02-27-2008, 06:31 PM
  #1  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default THE VETTE BREATHES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FIRED THE VETTE TONIGHT !!!!!!!.......

632ci BIG CHIEF,Donovan aluminum block,EPD SHEET METAL INTAKE with a pair of Chuck N 1200 Dominaters....
breathing thru a set of 2-1/2 stepped to 2-3/8 headers with 5 inch collectors ( NO MUFFLERS)...ON JACK STANDS..
IT RATTLED THE NEXT DOOR NEIGHBORS HOUSE (600FT AWAY)

Only problem i had was the ever so famous BARRY GRANT pump leaked (poured) at the O-RING BASE..( I HATE BARRY GRANT PUMPS)


Anyone know where i can buy one of these O-RING KITS for the BG 400 ????.



over look me i am excited..this has been long awaited..much blood sweat tears and money spent to get to this point..

Brian
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 06:47 PM
  #2  
topsportsman1
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Maine,USA
Posts: 1,208
Default

Sounds good Brian,wooo hooo it lives.


Here is the "o" ring seal kit for the pump

http://www.racingjunk.com/post/10175...pump-seal.html
__________________
There Is 1 Thing Better Than Cubic Inches,,,More Of Them
topsportsman1 is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 06:47 PM
  #3  
lanham
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: berea,ky
Posts: 184
Default o ring

Hey Brian check ad #1017533 for the o-ring kit.I personally ordered a o-ring kit from this guy and was a quick turnaround.My Barry Grant pump has leaked after it has sit for the winter but seems if you run it it ends up sealing back up.I still have not put the new o-ring kit in mine but i have it if it doesn't seal this time.Good luck.
lanham is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:20 PM
  #4  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

yes if this was a tiny leak i would try it ..but it is pouring..the pump has not been run in 4 or 5 years or longer..it pushes the fuel fine just leaks like a pale of water..
i am a magnafuel guy but going to use the BG400 cause i got it already
DISCLAIMER: ( bg400 pump came with car..I DID NOT BUY IT... :P )



Thanks Tom and Lanham.


i am so excited i could just take a big shot of 151 if i still drank..lol
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:41 PM
  #5  
mcracecars
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 272
Default

:lol: we want videos... noisy ones too..... ... not of the leaky pump, the vette....
Im happy for ya there Brian....
mcracecars is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 08:16 PM
  #6  
mikeaton
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: artesia new mexico
Posts: 172
Default vette

hey brian way to go!!!! congrats to the running of the vette[be carefull of the word"fire" especially around a leaking fuel pump lol] glad to hear you getting it done .now share the noise!!! were ready to fire and run the funny as well! o yea nobody told me the truck and trailer would be as costly as the car itself!! anyway congrates!!!!!
mikeaton is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 08:25 PM
  #7  
lively
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
lively's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 2,191
Default

THAT'S GREAT BRIAN!!!!!!!---VIDEOS WITH NOISE :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:--LIVELY
lively is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:14 AM
  #8  
3dracing
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dothan Al.
Posts: 166
Default

Good news Brian. Have you looked at an aeromotive pump? I go through APD and they are great. I use my Aeromotive 2000 with an aeromotive by-pass regulator instead of by-passing at the pump.


Steve
3dracing is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:25 AM
  #9  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

Originally Posted by 3dracing
Good news Brian. Have you looked at an aeromotive pump? I go through APD and they are great. I use my Aeromotive 2000 with an aeromotive by-pass regulator instead of by-passing at the pump.


Steve

Yes i have owned an Aeromotive 2000 in the past....I am a die hard Magnafuel Pump Guy......if i had to change it would be the Magnafuel Prostar 500..i run this pump on my 67 camaro..I love it...

Reason i am staying with the BG400 is because it came with car and it will serve the purpose....i really do not like the idea of having to spend extra $500 right now for something i want instead of need..

i will say the Aeromative is a good pump and would be my 2nd choice of fuel pumps.

thanks brian
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:50 AM
  #10  
woodsman
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 525
Default

Dude I am glad to see you got it running and can't wait to see what its going to run. If it runs as good as it looks then you will get it in the 4's after a few passes. Have fun with it and good luck.
woodsman is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service