1/8 mile gear

Old 02-10-2008, 05:29 PM
  #1  
finley2005
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 18
Default 1/8 mile gear

i have a 74 vega with a 406 small block, BTE glide with 182 first gear. i have a 486 gear now which i was running a 1/4 mile. what gear will i need to run 1/8 mile? a 514 or lower? i am running14-32 slicks. thanks!!
finley2005 is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 05:53 PM
  #2  
sg1586
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 185
Default

Whats your finish line rpm in the 1/4???
sg1586 is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 08:42 PM
  #3  
SPEEDNEEDS1
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pikeville KY
Posts: 109
Default

A 5.43-or-5.57 would be great, and will mput you around 7000 at the stripe
SPEEDNEEDS1 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 11:52 AM
  #4  
aaaaaaaaaaaaa
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 148
Default

486 is good enough and you aint gonna see much difference when you go to a 513 and i wouldnt ever go more than a 513 bcuz you would just be hurting your being consistent and it wont make it go faster ET wise
aaaaaaaaaaaaa is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 04:59 PM
  #5  
shawnp
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 937
Default

If you don't plan on running 1/4 mile at all, 5.13. If you still want to get down the 1/4 mile with the rods in the motor, stay with what you have. I have seen a lot of guys wanting to turn a 406 like it is a sb2 cup motor and throw a lot of gear at it. The end results are expensive and make the guy in the waterbox mad.
shawnp is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 04:57 AM
  #6  
oncearacer52
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default

We went from a 4.56 to a 5.14 and I was very surprised to pick up .250 with the exact same motor setup. We did not even pull the valve covers over the winter. I could run the quarter with the 4.56s but, no way with the 5.14s I shift at 6000 with a glide and cross the traps at 6550. 30 inch tires. One thing I forgot is I did make a ladder bar to go with the Slide-A-Link rear suspension and it did help the traction. So maybe that is where it is.
oncearacer52 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service