vibration

Old 01-12-2008, 11:02 AM
  #1  
taonindo
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: boise idaho
Posts: 6
Default vibration

how much vibration can be expected from a sbc 400 with solid eng. and tranny mounts. ive been told its normal for the 400 sbc to have vibration and running solid mounts and a torque strap i can expect a lot of vibration....so how do we/i measure the amount of vibration there is? what is a lot and what is too much? any help or ideas on how to measure this would be appreciated
taonindo is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 11:45 AM
  #2  
mytmouz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mytmouz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pelahatchie, MS
Posts: 996
Default

If you have solid engine mounts, you need to use a poly tranny mount. It'll break the tranny most likely. You're vibration problem will reduce a good bit also...
mytmouz is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 07:45 PM
  #3  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

DO NOT EVER USE A SOLID TRANS MOUNT, especially with solid motor mounts. You will break the trans case at some point. You have no more vibration from a 400 than any other SB if it is correctly balanced. Even full tube chassis cars have some flex, most of those use front motor plates and a mid plate. A factory chassis flexes more than you can imagine and even with a roll cage and subframe connectors if needed, it will flex enough to break parts.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service