glide or th350 for fed?

Old 12-23-2007, 01:44 PM
  #1  
olds48
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montvale, VA
Posts: 1,431
Default glide or th350 for fed?

Redoing a fed I just bought off buddy.170" wb ,4.10 gear and 32" tires.Setup for smallblock.Not looking for something real fast,6-6.5 in the 1/8.Setup with th350,would glide suck off line?Pros and Cons,please
olds48 is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 02:13 PM
  #2  
davis419b
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wylie,Texas
Posts: 276
Default

I had a 164" Davis FED for seven years, it was my first race car. I wouldnt put anything in it but a Powerglide. I ran a 377 SBC in it on alcohol with 292 turbo heads and it ran 5.70,s in the 1/8th. It was the most fun i have had racing. Don
davis419b is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 02:14 PM
  #3  
lookingaround
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lenoir City Tennessee
Posts: 865
Default

id go with a glide. less turning weight and the car isnt going to weigh much
lookingaround is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 07:20 PM
  #4  
jjentracing
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
Default glide

Glide, we have a guy at our track that is running 5.38-40 with a fed. Has done pretty good this year too. I know cause he has bought my dinner about a dozen times this season.
jjentracing is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 09:18 PM
  #5  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

You will run quicker, more consistant, and launch smoother with the glide.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 06:15 AM
  #6  
olds48
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montvale, VA
Posts: 1,431
Default

Wow :shock: Didn't expect that!I was leaning toward the th350.Figured it would help the launch since I'm not building much of a motor.What do you guys think about on stall speed?
olds48 is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 09:25 AM
  #7  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

Stall will depend on the engine combo you end up with. From your other posts, that is still undecided. When you get a handle on it we can give you a range to look for.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 04:32 PM
  #8  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Definately a glide. You'll need a shorter tire too. Mine had 4.30's and 31x13 goodyears and worked really well. Feds just weren't designed for big tires....
johnracer is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 05:52 PM
  #9  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

you will get more wheel speed from a 350/400 turbo...also do you plan on running a trans brake or just gonna foot brake the car?......the transbreak is more costly in the 350 turbo on the average then A GLIDE...

if ya not gonna have a ton of motor..i would say a 400 or a 350 turbo would suit ya as well as a glide ( taking no sides here).

my wife runs a TCI 350 Turbo in her 406ci full bodied 69 camaro..no complaints here..

I tell ya what...here is how i would make my decison if i where in your shoes.....if i had a 2 speed glide shifter i would go with glide..if i had a turbo shifter i would go with 350 turbo...one step further if my tranny mount cross member was set up for a turbo 400 then i would go this route..

as you can see i do not lean much either way with your set up..its really not going to make a world of difference...the wheel speed you pick up with the turbo will off set the hp you lose to turn it..vs Glide.

My opinion...plus your key words was " not looking for something real fast".with this said whatever engine combo you go with..lean toward the tighter converter..if your not looking for something that will get up on the power band and walk...

Bjuice
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 07:21 AM
  #10  
olds48
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montvale, VA
Posts: 1,431
Default

I'm shooting for about 425-450hp.The 32" tires were for ground clearance,only.Losing an inch or so on tire height shouldn't affect clearance or gearing much either way.The car is set up for a 350.I think a glide/350 will just interchange(output yoke,case lentgh,mount location),am I right in this?I've always had 4 speeds and 400s,so thyis is all unfamiliar to me.Thanks for all the info everyone.And yes ,I am gonna footbrake it.What's nostalgic about a transbrake :?
olds48 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service