Transbrake

Old 12-23-2007, 07:27 AM
  #1  
vwdragster
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 14
Default Transbrake

I finally got my car out to the track. It has a new ATI Powerglide. The first pass it ran well on top end 124mph, but had a terrible 60 ft. time 1.40( BBC Dragster). The second pass it would not stop in lights using the trannybrake. It rolled forward. I checked the band adjustment and the brake work three time in a row in the pits. Tried again, did the burnout and brake wouldn't hold the car again :evil: ! I am pretty new to the powerglide thing, and any help would be appreciated!!!!! It seems to shift good, and the fluid level is fine. The converter has 4 passes(Coan) and the tranny has 8 passes.
vwdragster is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 07:49 AM
  #2  
davis419b
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wylie,Texas
Posts: 276
Default

Do you have a delay box, if so what kind?
davis419b is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 08:29 AM
  #3  
gdmii
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 139
Default

If the band was out of adjustment (loose) it would more than likely back up on you versus going forward. I would check all connections. Also, what brand of transbrake solenoid do you have?

George
gdmii is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 08:41 AM
  #4  
vwdragster
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 14
Default

It has a digital delay box and a the ATI solenoid. There is a light that comes on the delay box when I push the button. You can hear the solenoid click when you mash the button.
Thanks for replying!
vwdragster is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 09:07 AM
  #5  
davis419b
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wylie,Texas
Posts: 276
Default

Do you have to push the transbrake button to back up after your burnout?
davis419b is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 09:13 AM
  #6  
vwdragster
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 14
Default

no
vwdragster is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 10:29 AM
  #7  
davis419b
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wylie,Texas
Posts: 276
Default

I thought maybe you had a transbrake lockout feature that might have been activated when you backed up and did not have time to cancel before you tried to stage but evidently not. By looking at the 1.40 60' i would say you must have something wrong inside of the valve body. That is very slow for any BBC in a dragster!
davis419b is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 10:34 AM
  #8  
vwdragster
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 14
Default

I agree that the 60' stinks. The car seems to run good except for the 60'. The 60' has been way slow since the car has been put together. It doesn't seems to really take off until about midway through 1st. The motor seems to run strong and everything on the motor checks out good.
vwdragster is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 10:35 AM
  #9  
davis419b
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wylie,Texas
Posts: 276
Default

Whats the story on the converter?
davis419b is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 11:07 AM
  #10  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

I have only see this happen one time and it wasn't to me, but a friend of mine runs an electric shift valve body (same as i do) and the brake wasn't holding and the 60' fell off really bad.
It turned out that he had some junk metal in the valve body and the brake piston was not releasing all the way nor fully ingaging, even though the electronics was working. He then put a magnet in the bottom of the trans pan.
After he cleaned the valve body everything was back to normal, like i said it didn't happen to me and we both use the same trans builder, and normally get 300 passes without freshing up on 3,000lb cars.
O'h and we have to push the trans brake button to back up.

Just a suggestion,

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service