Transbrake how to's

Old 12-15-2007, 07:04 AM
  #1  
jjam
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 56
Default Transbrake how to's

Help I'm new to all of this. I have a transbrake on my car, with a 3000 stall converter. Now when I engage the transbrake do I floor the gas ped or only take it up to the stall on the converter??
jjam is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 07:48 AM
  #2  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

The engine will not rev past the stall of the converter. You can floor it with the trans brake on and the engine will only rev as far as the converter will stall. This is not a good way to launch the car. It is hard on the converter because it builds up heat. Also, if you leave flat against the converter you are not taking advantage of the torque multiplication of converter. I just learned this since joining here. I always have went dead against converter but now know different. I'm sure some of the experts will chime in here soon and give you the scoop better than I can.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 08:08 AM
  #3  
davis419b
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wylie,Texas
Posts: 276
Default

Put a 2-Step module on the car and when you deck it on the transbrake it will only go to the RPM of the chip you have in it, that way you are not all the way to the stall on the converter.
davis419b is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 01:02 PM
  #4  
jjam
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 56
Default

So do you put in a chip the size of the stall?? or ?? If I'm running a 3000 stall?
jjam is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 01:22 PM
  #5  
davis419b
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wylie,Texas
Posts: 276
Default

Not sure what your combination is or what type of racing you are doing but that sounds like a no-electronics converter to me. I run a 6,300 stall converter and usally chip to 4,600 to 5,000. Im not sure whether they make a chip that goes below 3,000.
davis419b is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 03:04 PM
  #6  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

Try a two step chip 1000 to 1500 below the stall point. Usually close.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 05:38 PM
  #7  
us7race
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tell City, IN
Posts: 356
Default

My stall will go 6,000 on the mat without the 2-step plugged in and when it gets traction it runs faster..Ran 6.33 with a 1.35 sixty to launching it at 4800 on the 2-step it ran 6.43 with a 1.37 sixty. 2 passes in a row.
us7race is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 06:29 PM
  #8  
SST4530
Senior Member
DYNO TECH
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leonard, Texas
Posts: 414
Default

Will it stall past the 3000 RPM?

My converter will also stall 6000 against the brake. I run a two step with low RPM @ 4500 to 5000 depending on the track and high at 8000. This lets the converter flash the remaining RPM and I think launches the car harder.

A 3000 is a pretty low stall speed, but good for street driving.
SST4530 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 04:21 PM
  #9  
jjam
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 56
Default

I'll get back on it after the track opens after the holidays... Just got a 2-step I'll install this weekend. Try and see what will my converter stall at, and then go from that. Talk to a friend and he has a 4500 stall converter and he said I can try it and see. My car is not much of a street car with 33x22.5x15 QTP's but still fun to drive to Burger King... 8) Thanks for all your help and I'll keep everyone updated... Hava a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year... See ya
jjam is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service