sbc block freeze plugs leaks

Old 12-11-2007, 08:04 PM
  #1  
et7333
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 259
Default sbc block freeze plugs leaks

Are there any sealers that will work on a very small leak on a freeze plug without using block sealer or removing the soft plug?
et7333 is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 08:51 PM
  #2  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

If you are looking for permanent fix, forget it. You can get rubber screw in for a temp fix, the best way is to replace it.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 08:55 PM
  #3  
davis419b
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wylie,Texas
Posts: 276
Default

What is a soft plug?
davis419b is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 09:25 PM
  #4  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by davis419b
What is a soft plug?
I was thinking the same :lol:
hammertime is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 09:28 PM
  #5  
davis419b
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wylie,Texas
Posts: 276
Default

I ran a SBC for 12 years and never heard of a soft plug and have been through plenty of engine projects ? Got to be a freeze plug!
davis419b is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 09:34 PM
  #6  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

I would think so also ... but maybe we are just outdated now
hammertime is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 03:19 PM
  #7  
rabiddawg
Senior Member
DYNO TECH
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Colebrook Connecticut
Posts: 425
Default

yeah i seen the rubber (temporary)plugs
pretty easy to install but dont think about using those at the track!
screw in are the best.
there is a pic of one here
http://www.automedia.com/Replacing_a...cr20070401fp/1
I always learned to pin the plugs and use a bit of indian shellac sealer on them .
rabiddawg is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 07:03 PM
  #8  
SST4530
Senior Member
DYNO TECH
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Leonard, Texas
Posts: 414
Default

definitley replace the plug with a brass plug and put a good coat of permatex on the backside before installation/ Just my $.02
SST4530 is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 04:52 PM
  #9  
et7333
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 259
Default

Thanks for the info-I replaced the freeze plug and put Indian Head sealer on it.No more leak
et7333 is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 05:31 AM
  #10  
dart441
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: S'West Michigan
Posts: 20
Default

Frost plugs are freeze plugs are soft plugs. Depends on how old you are and where you are from. Install them w/ an epoxy or JB and they wont leak. Also use brass ones and they won't ever rust through. That's important I guess if you can get a block to live a bazillion passes.
Duane
dart441 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service