TORQUE CONVERTER

Old 12-10-2007, 03:25 PM
  #1  
doorjammer
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 19
Default TORQUE CONVERTER

hi
I have a ZZ4 350/355.....stock bottom end power plus open plain intake
demon 750 carb...edelbrock rpm heads 202.160...64 com.chamber..1.5
roller rockers..hydraulic roller [email protected] ADV DUR.296/304 LIFT
LIFT 539/558.......... TRANS TH350 HUGHES...converter 3500. well

From at stop sign i put it in low...roll out about 20mpr then hit it.It blows
the tires off... shift from 1 and 2......this is on a street car...I was thinking on goin to a.....3000 to 3200 converter.....4.56 gears 29in tire.........thanks


Butch
doorjammer is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 03:25 PM
  #2  
youlose
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Default

your welcome
youlose is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 04:53 PM
  #3  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

just reading thru your set up motor/gear etc...i would not waste my money droping the converter from a 3500 to 3000/3200..
You have enough motor with that 4.56 gear to blow the tires off everytime..you will still blow them off with a 3,000 converter as well.

its a lot of gear for a street car that is drivable..also the nature of the hard compound street tire..and the street itself is not for hooking....

the 3.73 gear is a good street strip gear..if u do not want to cut it back that much then i would go 4.10/4.11..but no more..it its s true street car.

also if you want tighter converter you can always send yours back and have them tighten it up..i assume you have a huged converter as well ?

my wife has a 69 camaro 460 hp motor..29inch dot streets with a 12 bolt 4.56 gear and it will blow them off on the street everytime...but she runs this car at the strip..otherwise i would drop her gear to a 3.73,,,she has a tci 3500 converter and 350 turbo tranny.

Brian
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 11:22 PM
  #4  
poncholvr
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 146
Default

if you go to a smaller converter, you will lose on your rpm's- and it will not hook up right i dont think-,also it might want to die or stall out the motor from lack of reaching the higher rpm's
poncholvr is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service