Trans decision

Old 11-26-2007, 06:07 PM
  #1  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default Trans decision

I have a th350 in my truck now with all good internals, a JW bellhousing but no brake installed. I'm looking to go to a brake but don't know whether to install one in the th350 or just sell it and go to a glide. Any help would be appreciated.
Drtmod5 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 06:44 PM
  #2  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

well if this helps you decide..a brake for a 350 turbo is costly..up over the 350 cost range......

whats the weight of the truck etc......gear tire size..

also what are you doing with truck..street driving,brackets.weekend warrior (having fun).....?,

Brian
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 06:47 PM
  #3  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default

Bracket racing
S-10 BBC
33x15 4.56 gears
@2500lbs
Drtmod5 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 06:58 PM
  #4  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

Absolutely positively no doubt POWERGLIDE! You will probably pick up ET if you have enough converter. The PG internals will handle more HP than the 350. If you are or planning to go quicker than 9.00 to 9.50 invest in a race gear set.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 06:59 PM
  #5  
lanham
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: berea,ky
Posts: 184
Default powerglide

Powerglide
lanham is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 07:02 PM
  #6  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default

I only run 1/8 th mi. Right now on the footbrake it run 6.80 but it should do more.
Drtmod5 is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 05:13 AM
  #7  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

powerglide.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 10:43 AM
  #8  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

Glide...also keep in mind it takes less HP to turn a glide internals then a 350 or 400 turbo...my last figure was approx 35hp to turn a Turbo and 6 HP to turn a glide..

so you will pick up RWHP as well with a glide...

the man is right about planateries...over 750 hp..the 1.76 gear set becomes risky....you need to consider some 1.80 straight cut gears...

even if you go with the 1.76 gear set...do yourself a favor and put in a good input shaft...this will go before anything ( normally)..i went with the VASCO HI-FLOW shaft from TRAN SPEACIALTIES and cost me like $280.00...i also went with the 1.80 gear set for $850.00 no problems yet...

good luck my man ..and have fun !

Brian
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service