changing intake

Old 11-14-2007, 01:55 PM
  #1  
rockitman
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Default changing intake

can i take a fuel injected intake off a 91 mustang gt and put a carb intake on without any hassles? Is it a direct swap? thanks Don
rockitman is offline  
Old 11-16-2007, 12:29 PM
  #2  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

As of the bolt on i feel you will have no problems as long as the intake and heads call for one another....what i DO KNOW is that you are going from an injection throttle body and will have to work out your carb linkage and you will also have to change up your fuel delivery system..more than likley it has an EFI made for this type injection from factory..you will have to convert to a carb friendly fuel pump.....This i know for sure..

Next biggest concern i would have is the Computer in that car..unsure of their configuration in 1991..its more than likely hot wired for a EFI set up. if so it will not recognize a carb..you have to have someone re-figure or by pass altogether ( not 100%).......i do not work on this type car or set up,,so i cannot give you anymore than that with your change over..



Brian
bjuice is offline  
Old 11-16-2007, 12:38 PM
  #3  
lookingaround
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lenoir City Tennessee
Posts: 865
Default

brian we always put a fuel pressure regulator on it like a mallory are something of that sort and left the stock electric fuel pump
lookingaround is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 06:08 AM
  #4  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

hey works for me...lol...that stuff is very out of form for me....

thanks for cluing me in...i was wondering does a computer change have to happen ?

thanks brian
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 11-20-2007, 03:53 AM
  #5  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

If you still have the factory dist in, it will need to be changed to a pre EEC IV or duraspark or some aftermarket fully contained electronic dist like a mallory unilite or msd pro blillet.
The ford EEC IV processor on your 91 will be all out of wack and will have your timing and dwell so messed up it might not even run.
Without the inputs from the array of sensors that came off the factory EFI intake intake and so fourth the processor will be in a "limp mode".
Goodluck, Charles
cepx111 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service