7al3

Old 11-11-2007, 08:28 PM
  #1  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default 7al3

Thinking of switching my 7al2 and retard box out for a 7al3 box with all the built in stuff (lack of room in car). I know the 7al3's used to have a lot of problems, any of you guys using them if so any troubles ?

thanks
hammertime is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 05:56 AM
  #2  
Racefab57
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 558
Default

Im running one ,had one in camaro have one for vette, only thing i had for a problem was when i used the rpm activated switch to work the electric shifter it would shift it at 1/2 the rpm dialed into the box. so i use a seperate rpm act switch. great box, also with that problem it may have been something i did wrong!!!! David.
Racefab57 is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 05:08 PM
  #3  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

Not worth spending the money for. The Digital 6 is a better choice and has as much output as a 7AL. Digital 7 is even better.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 05:11 PM
  #4  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by jmarksdragster
Not worth spending the money for. The Digital 6 is a better choice and has as much output as a 7AL. Digital 7 is even better.
I do like both digitals but my problem with the 6 is no 3 step for burnout chip correct ?

digital 7 is just to darn much $$ after I buy everything for it.
hammertime is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 05:26 PM
  #5  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

You would need the Digital 7 for the third step. What other parts would you need to buy? Coil? The advantage of being able to plot a timing curve, large start retard, and even individual cylinder timing make it worthwhile. I have one on my new dragster and I love it. You can even change the timing for each gear change.
jmarksdragster is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 05:36 PM
  #6  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

A programmer correct ?
hammertime is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 05:44 PM
  #7  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

Any PC with a serial port will program it. I have a used laptop that does the trick.
jmarksdragster is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service