Need disc brake set up

Old 11-04-2007, 05:21 AM
  #1  
qtrmile2
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moscow Mills, Mo.
Posts: 533
Default Need disc brake set up

Hey guys,
I'm lookinmg for some advise on putting front disc brakes on my 67 Camaro. I 'm not to worried about weight because the car will go 10.90 in the heat. Just want to get this thing to stop. I've got drum brakes on all fours now. No power brake booster on the car now. I'm looking for a good complete set up. It's only going 128 mph 1/4 mile now but it's hard to stop on a short track.
Thanks for your help and advise
qtrmile2 is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 09:03 AM
  #2  
mcracecars
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 272
Default

Strange or Wilwood have complete kits.....you would need to change the master cylinder as well. Give strange a call or email for their recomendations. They are very helpful.
www.strangeengineering.net
I would also recomend if you have not already done it, would be to replace the brake lines and flex lines. 40 year old flex lines will give out on you when you really need them.....
mcracecars is offline  
Old 11-13-2007, 09:07 PM
  #3  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default Re: Need disc brake set up

Originally Posted by qtrmile2
Hey guys,
I'm lookinmg for some advise on putting front disc brakes on my 67 Camaro. I 'm not to worried about weight because the car will go 10.90 in the heat. Just want to get this thing to stop. I've got drum brakes on all fours now. No power brake booster on the car now. I'm looking for a good complete set up. It's only going 128 mph 1/4 mile now but it's hard to stop on a short track.
Thanks for your help and advise
I've got late model Malibu's on th fronf of mine and 9" fords on the back off a big ford, they are all heavy but i run no booster and it will stop at any track i've ever been too, in fact i can make the first turn off in the qtr,at Memphis but i only run 124mph

It's cheap and works.

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 11-14-2007, 10:32 PM
  #4  
edvancedengines
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: VA Hospital, Dallas, Tx (214 302 1924) cell-972-464-7400
Posts: 540
Default

If you want to do a little work to get it to all fit, you could swap out your entire control arms, and brakes to the 86 to 94 C4 Corvette Aluminum control arms, aluminum brakes. and even go a liittle further and buy a master cylinder adapter from Master Brakes and use the lightweight aluminum master cylinder and booster.

If that isn't enough, you can them with a little work to fab a bracket to hold the caliper mount the aluminum rear brakes from the same car onto you housing. The fitment is easy to do.

If you did all I named it would sve you several hundred pounds and give superb stopping with brakes you can buy parts for anywhere.

Ed
edvancedengines is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 05:00 AM
  #5  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

Originally Posted by edvancedengines
If you want to do a little work to get it to all fit, you could swap out your entire control arms, and brakes to the 86 to 94 C4 Corvette Aluminum control arms, aluminum brakes.

Ed
Ed...just exactly what kind of work and how much exactly to make em fit? I have a 70 nova and I think the front clip is very similar to the camaro.
Tod74 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service