need converter

Old 10-31-2007, 06:37 PM
  #1  
kw89425
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: waynesburg, ky
Posts: 217
Default need converter

i have a 68 camaro backhalf car all steal. running a pump gas 496 with a 350 turbo the trans was in the car when i got it. i was told it had 3000 converter in it will push through the lights at 2100 or 2200. here i thought that a 3000 would stall higher with my 496 its making 592 hp. i do drive the car on the street from time to time. coming off the line at 2000 i did get a 1.50 60' i want to come off around 4000. somebody tell me about what i need. the torque on the motor was a little over 600 cant recall exact #
kw89425 is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 06:00 AM
  #2  
woodsman
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 525
Default

You need a trans brake to get up to your full stall of your converter. You will also need a new converter if you want to stall to 4000. And also make sure you have good parts in your Turbo 350 if your going to stall it that high.
woodsman is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 07:38 AM
  #3  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,140
Default

Call COAN or another converter manufacturer and talk to them.Give them all the info you have about your motor and car and have one built.You will be glad you did. Expensive but well worth it. I broke two 10 inch street converters at 300 bucks each before I wised up and bought a good one.
Tod74 is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 09:39 PM
  #4  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

I highly recomend one of transmission specialties spragless race converters, they are virtually indestuctable.
They can custom build you one for your application, just call them up and tell them your specs and they will get the perfect converter for your set-up, also they offer a free re-tweak if needed within 90 days of purchase.
Here's a link to their site.


http://www.transmission-specialties....hp?cPath=23_43
cepx111 is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 12:52 PM
  #5  
kw89425
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: waynesburg, ky
Posts: 217
Default

you cant run a spragless converter on the street can you? i do drive mine on the street some
kw89425 is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 09:18 PM
  #6  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

I dont see why not, its acts the same as a coverter with a sprag , they just eliminated the troublesome sprag assembly and made it work without it.
If you wanted to know for sure call T/S and talk to a tech and they could set you up and tell you the in and outs of converters and street use.


Transmission Specialties, Inc.

375 Turner Industrial Way

Aston, PA 19014

Phone (610) 485-9110

FAX (610) 485-9356
cepx111 is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 03:33 AM
  #7  
kw89425
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: waynesburg, ky
Posts: 217
Default

ok thanks
kw89425 is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 01:10 PM
  #8  
jmarksdragster
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
jmarksdragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 635
Default

Don't run a spragless on the street. Race cars with transbrakes only.
jmarksdragster is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -