setting total timing

Old 10-31-2007, 07:09 AM
  #1  
thetanman101
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: East Texas
Posts: 86
Default setting total timing

Let's say TDC on my motor is at the 5 degree mark on my balancer. I want my motor running at 35 degrees total. Would I add 35 degrees to my 5 degree TDC mark and set it at the 40 degree mark on balancer?

-Tanner
thetanman101 is offline  
Old 10-31-2007, 07:50 AM
  #2  
gdmii
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 139
Default

Yep. That'll work. Also Mr. Gasket makes an adjustable pointer where you can set the pointer to point at 0 instead of 5. Makes it less confusing but the way you're asking will work fine too.

George
gdmii is offline  
Old 10-31-2007, 08:11 AM
  #3  
thetanman101
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: East Texas
Posts: 86
Default

Thanks, just one of those little but important things you wanna make sure your thinking in the right direction about.
thetanman101 is offline  
Old 10-31-2007, 09:51 AM
  #4  
edvancedengines
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: VA Hospital, Dallas, Tx (214 302 1924) cell-972-464-7400
Posts: 540
Default

Let's say TDC on my motor is at the 5 degree mark on my balancer
Let's say You better check to be sure you don't have a balancer on the way to destruction.

Ed
edvancedengines is offline  
Old 10-31-2007, 10:12 AM
  #5  
thetanman101
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: East Texas
Posts: 86
Default

I was just throwing that number out there for easy math.
thetanman101 is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 09:05 AM
  #6  
davebat
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bedford, Ohio
Posts: 86
Default

Here ya go..... http://www.competitionproducts.com/p...s.asp?dept=616
I had one (a bit used) in an engine I traded for so I just bought two more for the two I'm building right now. Fully adjustable, but make sure you don't stab yourself as I did with the tip, it's sharp!
davebat is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 02:32 PM
  #7  
us7race
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tell City, IN
Posts: 356
Default

I set my timing by revving the motor to 3000RPM and put in the timing I want on my light and I move the distributer until it reaches "0" and then I shut it down and tighten down the distributer then a quick recheck to see if it is still there..Is this the same principle?..
us7race is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 09:24 PM
  #8  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

Thats exactly the method I use, verifying that the pointer is aligned with TDC first.
Cp
cepx111 is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 01:38 AM
  #9  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default

Originally Posted by us7race
I set my timing by revving the motor to 3000RPM and put in the timing I want on my light and I move the distributer until it reaches "0" and then I shut it down and tighten down the distributer then a quick recheck to see if it is still there..Is this the same principle?..
If you are talking about the dial back timing lights...I thought they were a no-no if you run an MSD ignition. :?
Tod74 is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 03:57 AM
  #10  
us7race
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tell City, IN
Posts: 356
Default

Not sure mine is a Digital Acutron Timing light..I have never been told not to use it..
us7race is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service