Can you use nitrous with a tunnel ram?

Old 10-17-2007, 07:46 PM
  #1  
Blue68Camaro
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 79
Default Can you use nitrous with a tunnel ram?

Just wondering if you can use nitrous with a hi rise tunnel ram with dual carbs? If so are there any special things you have to do or do you just use two plates??
Blue68Camaro is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 06:45 AM
  #2  
edvancedengines
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: VA Hospital, Dallas, Tx (214 302 1924) cell-972-464-7400
Posts: 540
Default

It is done all the time.

You can plumb or get your manifold plumbed for nitrous foggerr type system or you can use two plates. If using two plates understand that if you are using one system with one nitrous solenoid and one fuel solenoid shared with two plates that your horsepower increase will be half od what the system is for.

Example you have a 500 hp system and you share it on two plates, you will get a total of 250 hp or a little more, becuase of changes in flow restrictions etc.

If you use two systems combined on two plates using two ea solenoids for nitrous and for fuel, then you have full capability of the one plate system times two. It is not advisable to spray more than 500 shot through a plate system total.

Ed
edvancedengines is offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 01:17 PM
  #3  
gimmemud
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ms.
Posts: 191
Default

I have ran 2 plates on a tunnelram and would never do it again, it can be done but it is agrivating to get the tuneup right, just install a fogger or spray bar system instead and you will be glad you did.
gimmemud is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service