looking for advice building large cubic inch sbc

Old 10-06-2007, 09:31 PM
  #1  
gearhead37683
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: mtn city TN
Posts: 37
Default looking for advice building large cubic inch sbc

i am thinking of building a large cubic inch sbc,and i was wondering if anyone here has built one out of a 400 sbc block? i dont want to have to buy a aftermarket block because of lack of funds. what is the largest i can build using the 400 block,and what needs to be done it, i am looking for a engine that can be streetable or take it to the strip,i would like a 427 sbc is that possible with a 400 block? if so what do i need to do it?i would appreciate any advice,i know someone here has built a large cubic inch sbc
thanks in advance
gearhead37683 is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 09:43 PM
  #2  
topsportsman1
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Maine,USA
Posts: 1,208
Default

A little info here.You can make your own decision,but my opinion you might not like.

http://forums.racingjunk.com/viewtop...&highlight=400
__________________
There Is 1 Thing Better Than Cubic Inches,,,More Of Them
topsportsman1 is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 05:05 AM
  #3  
rabiddawg
Senior Member
DYNO TECH
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Colebrook Connecticut
Posts: 425
Default

I think you can go up to .060 overbore on a 400 block max.
I did mine .030 over and still got enough material on the walls.
my total cubic inches came out to 406.
you can also add longer rods to improve the upper end performance.
400s are really torque monsters.
heres mine:

rabiddawg is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 07:44 AM
  #4  
gearhead37683
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: mtn city TN
Posts: 37
Default

thanks for the input, i had one 406 already and i loved it, it made so much torque it was a beast on the street, i may just build another 406,
i like the idea of the very large cubic inch sbc, but i dont have the cash to build one using a aftermarket block, so i am wondering what would be the largest i can build using a gm block,and what size crank do i need to use with it to achieve max cubic inches, because i have heard from a lot of people that the 400 blocks are prone to cracking and busting around the 600-650 hp range
thanks for any advice
gearhead37683 is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 07:52 AM
  #5  
mytmouz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mytmouz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pelahatchie, MS
Posts: 996
Default

I have a 4 inch stroke crank in mine.
mytmouz is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 08:01 AM
  #6  
gearhead37683
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: mtn city TN
Posts: 37
Default

what size bore do you have?and what does it come out to be with the 4 inch stroke crank? also what size rods and pistons are you using with that combo?and does it work well?
thanks
gearhead37683 is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 05:39 PM
  #7  
mytmouz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mytmouz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pelahatchie, MS
Posts: 996
Default

Standardbore. Comes out to 428 cubes. .030 would be 434 cubes. I'm using 6 inch rods. Works prety well for me...
mytmouz is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 12:20 AM
  #8  
kickin472
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 14
Default

My builder made me a 442ci couple years ago out of a 400 block. The block was filled, strapped, and never had a problem with 780 hp. I found a talldeck rocket block for $500 and made a 472 sb2.2 headed smallblock alot stronger no fill in the block, splayed, and it was like night and day for the power difference.

the 442ci is a 4.188 with a 4" swing, grinding is a must on the pan rails

Anthony
kickin472 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 09:47 AM
  #9  
gearhead37683
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: mtn city TN
Posts: 37
Default

thanks for all of the advice,this winter i may just go for it and see what i can come up with. my only concern using the stock block is i dont want to fill it because i would like it to be streetable
thanks
gearhead37683 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 09:52 AM
  #10  
davebat
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bedford, Ohio
Posts: 86
Default 400 Availability

I have 2 I'm building now, looking into de-stroking 1 of them. They are both 2 bolt main, having splayed 4 bolt mains installed, suppose to be better than stock 4 bolt, PLUS everyone wants a mint for the 4 bolts, 2 bolts are readily availible and inexpensive.
We are limited to 406 (race e-mod div.), so when I need to bore more than .30, looking at the de-stroker as an alternative to keeping my blocks. Having them jacketed and steam holes plugged.
ANYONE RUN A DE-STOKED 400?
davebat is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service