mustang tranny swap

Old 09-09-2007, 09:38 PM
  #1  
hotrod1024
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: FayettevilleN.C.
Posts: 215
Default mustang tranny swap

I just recently got an 89 coupe with 351w with 5speed.Pro 5.0 shifter.Want to change over to automatic.Few questions.Will my driveshaft ,crossmember and mount be the same?Will an auto work with standard console?Am interested in trading my complete standard set up for auto and just ned to know what will be involved so when I find trade I will know what to look for or ask for with trade.I do Know from what i have been told flywheel is different.What about starter?Any help will be greatly appreciated.Thanks,Randy.
hotrod1024 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 07:19 PM
  #2  
hotrod1024
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: FayettevilleN.C.
Posts: 215
Default no help?

Ok guess ill try tomorrow.
hotrod1024 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:03 PM
  #3  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

I think the stock crossmember and drive shaft will work if you use a Aod which is stock auto tranny for those cars but if you go with a C4 which most people do for racing and higher horsepower levels, you might have to fab one up and get a yoke conversion.
As far as the stock console like I said before if you use the stock auto tranny everything from the donor car should bolt up.
Goodluck, Charles
cepx111 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 12:32 AM
  #4  
fishman1
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: alberta,canada
Posts: 166
Default

a aod is 1 1/4 longer then a c4 and the yoke has to be that much longer for a c4 all u have to do is change the yoke...the mount on the aod sits to the back of the car probably 6 inchs compared to the c4...i have done a c4 to aod conversion.......not a big deal really
fishman1 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 12:33 AM
  #5  
hotrod1024
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: FayettevilleN.C.
Posts: 215
Default thanks

Thanks for help Charles.Might have c4 available but it is tranny with bellhousing flywheel and converter only.Im still looking for someone to trade complete auto setup for my complete 5 speed setup.Dont know for sure yet if c-4 or something else.What ever good deal is offered.Thanks again,Randy.
hotrod1024 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 12:37 AM
  #6  
hotrod1024
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: FayettevilleN.C.
Posts: 215
Default

Thanks fishman.I am just waiting to see whats offered for my setup.Which would be better in you guys opinion.Aod or c-4?No computer in mt car at all.And will both bolt to 351w.Thanks again guys,Randy.
hotrod1024 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 10:36 PM
  #7  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

The aod will be nice driving around town and mpg will be better but if your plan on racing this thing, I would consider the stouter C4.
As for the bolt pattern all v8 small block fords have the same bell housing.
Goodluck, Charles
cepx111 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 10:39 PM
  #8  
hotrod1024
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: FayettevilleN.C.
Posts: 215
Default

Thanks Charles.Yea I am leaning more towards c4.Just waiting to see if someone has one to trade me.Yes i really do plan on racing.The torque this 351 has really impressed me.
hotrod1024 is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 04:07 PM
  #9  
lookingaround
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lenoir City Tennessee
Posts: 865
Default

i just took out everything you need out of my 88 coupe. i have flywheel convertor aod tranny shifter brake pedal shifting cable like i said everything you need. just put a 5 speed in mine memorial day weekend. if interested give me a shout. there is nothing wrong with it just wanted a 5 speed to play. thanks Avery
lookingaround is offline  
Old 09-13-2007, 04:15 PM
  #10  
lookingaround
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lenoir City Tennessee
Posts: 865
Default

oh yeah you dont have to change your starter are anything to put the aod in.
lookingaround is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service