TRANBRAKE

Old 04-28-2007, 06:30 PM
  #1  
bbb555
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: columbus,ohio
Posts: 93
Default TRANBRAKE

I have a coan 400 that is retarded.The transbrake stopped working so I replaced the soleniod with a tci soleniod and it slips in 3rd gear with transbrake very weak.I put the old soleniod back in and it shifts fine but no trasbrake??ANYBODY?
bbb555 is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 06:35 PM
  #2  
lively
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
lively's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 2,191
Default

WAS IT DELIVERED IN A SHORT BUS???? :lol: :lol: :lol: !!!LOL LOL--FAST BOWTIE YOU BETTER ANSWER THIS!!!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
lively is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 06:41 PM
  #3  
bbb555
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: columbus,ohio
Posts: 93
Default

LOL :lol:
bbb555 is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 06:42 PM
  #4  
fastbowtie
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Indianapolis In
Posts: 206
Default

Never Liked TCI brakes Always seamed to be weak .Even in my last TCI 400 I replaced the solenoid with A Trans Specialties solenoid.
fastbowtie is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 06:44 PM
  #5  
lively
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
lively's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 2,191
Default

ONLY KIDDING!!!--IT HAS BEEN ONE OF THOSE WEEKS!!!---I CAN'T HELP YOU ON THIS BUT SOMEBODY ON HERE HAS YOUR ANSWER :lol: :lol: :lol: JUST HANG ON !!!! :shock: :shock:
lively is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 08:43 AM
  #6  
bbb555
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: columbus,ohio
Posts: 93
Default

Anybody had this problem before?
bbb555 is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 09:03 AM
  #7  
sp2816
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Owingsville, Ky
Posts: 157
Default

Measure both solenoids for the distance for activation and for where the spool valve rests. It sounds like the spool valve is not being allowed to come out far enough to seal the passages for high gear to work properly and not being pushed in all of the way, causing the weak reverse for the transbrake. Reverse and high gear use the same drum and clutches. Hope this helps.
Bill M
sp2816 is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 01:00 PM
  #8  
bbb555
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: columbus,ohio
Posts: 93
Default

That does help some.The new soleniod is much shorter than the old one and nobody can figure out what brand the old one is?I bought the car with tranny in it.I took the soleniod up to jegs and they couldn't find a match for it.
bbb555 is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 01:36 PM
  #9  
sp2816
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Owingsville, Ky
Posts: 157
Default

That explains about high gear. The spool valve is coming out too far and not sealing, similar to having the shifter misadjusted. Until you have the distances the same, it will not work. Here is a picture on Coan's site for a solenoid. If it is a Coan transmission, you might be stuck on which solenoid to get.

http://www.coanracing.com/PartPicPop...40&BPID=1&NP=5

You could possibly lengthen your spool valve by the difference in distance
between the two solenoids, but you wouldn't want it to warp or be too long. There have been some solenoids with the tip that was screwed on and adjustable, but the TCI doesn't look to have that ability.

Bill M
sp2816 is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 02:11 PM
  #10  
bbb555
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: columbus,ohio
Posts: 93
Default

I thank you for that info. That's the correct one in it now.So more than likely that's the problem with the transbrake going out or not working.The old soleniod is bad but the tci won't work as a replacement?Thanks Again
bbb555 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service