converter ?

Old 12-24-2006, 06:25 PM
  #1  
nabit
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 42
Default converter ?

I am looking at buying a new converter from a guy that states it is a vega converter that was cut open rebuilt,cleaned up and set for 3700stall and it is a 10inch 350 converter. My question is I can't find any info on a vega converter, company or anything. Is it a chevrolet vega stock converter that was rebuilt and changed or is there and actual company called vega converter?
Thanks!!
nabit is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 07:08 PM
  #2  
lookingaround
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lenoir City Tennessee
Posts: 865
Default

if its a stock vega stahl it want take a whole lot of power it will come apart..and if it is a vega convertor you will have to drill your flywheel to get it to bolt up. thats the problems i have run into with them..good for a street vert but not race..JMO
lookingaround is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 02:28 AM
  #3  
nabit
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 42
Default

thanks, I will pass on it..
nabit is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 05:30 AM
  #4  
lookingaround
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lenoir City Tennessee
Posts: 865
Default

if oldani would come in he could tell ya for sure he is the tranny guru
lookingaround is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 12:05 PM
  #5  
nabit
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 42
Default

Nice bike!!! I use to have an 01 gixxer 1000, damn do I miss it....
nabit is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 07:55 PM
  #6  
3758
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 15
Default vega convertor

Know body can tell you what a convertor stalls at unless the know what torque your motor puts out. buy a convertor from a manufacture who will set it up for your application a 5000 stall in my car might stall 3500 in yours
3758 is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 06:01 AM
  #7  
Oldani
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: IA
Posts: 5
Default

As a very general rule of thumb, each 50 hp move will change stall speed roughly 200 rpm. I'd advise you to use a decent converter. At least one with furnace-brazed fins and possibly anti-balooning plates. It's easier to spend your dollars once than twice!
Oldani is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 02:50 PM
  #8  
mcracecars
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 272
Default

Have to agree with OLDani, Im afraid. One thing I have learned over the years is to never buy a used converter unless you know the guy real well and the car it came out of.
Nothing will pi** you off more than buying a "good used converter", going through all the work to install it, driving 2 hours to the track, and finding out the converter is junk....
Buy one from a known manufacturer. Call several and ask them for their recomendation for your vehicle.
mcracecars is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 02:36 PM
  #9  
chris301y
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Owingsville,Ky
Posts: 7
Default

call Greg Slack.
chris301y is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 03:41 PM
  #10  
refill
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Default need a number for greg slack

Originally Posted by chris301y
call Greg Slack.
refill is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service