engine trouble

Old 05-25-2009, 04:02 AM
  #11  
kbartley
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Staunton,VA.
Posts: 254
Default balancer

Yes Sir Rattler, as soon as I get some time in this car w/ the crazy frontend, I'm changing over to my HUB & WASHING MACHINE motor. Get some real use out of those zoomies on the car.

Kris
kbartley is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 06:04 AM
  #12  
CamBirdRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 510
Default

Originally Posted by greenone60
thanks guys for the info, and yes iam getting a sfi balancer.

Don't buy a cheap one. It will do the same thing. Had a professional products one on my Pontiac. Thought something was wrong with my timing light. Was less than a year old.
CamBirdRacing is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 11:21 AM
  #13  
kbartley
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Staunton,VA.
Posts: 254
Default balancer

CamBird what was wrong w/ the pro prodocts balancer?

Kris
kbartley is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 11:34 AM
  #14  
CamBirdRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 510
Default

the outer ring came loose from the hub. And this was on a 6000 rpm engine. Not like it turned higher to make it a piece of junk. It's not like it jsut slipped a few degrees, It came loose and you could reach down and spin it on the hub with one finger.
CamBirdRacing is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 06:20 PM
  #15  
greenone60
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
Default

i have heard the same thing about pro products balancer
greenone60 is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 08:00 PM
  #16  
kbartley
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Staunton,VA.
Posts: 254
Default balancer

HOLY SHNIKES!!
kbartley is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:53 PM
  #17  
greenone60
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
Default

got new balancer on today put on a power bond sfi balancer,i have never heard of power bond, that is what my builder runs.has anyone run one of these?oh i had to replace elec. water pump also if was busted in 3 places.oh about a $500 repair but aleast the motor is fine seems to run fine.
greenone60 is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -