What kind of RPM limiter to use?

Old 03-09-2008, 05:52 PM
  #1  
lmccoll
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 36
Default What kind of RPM limiter to use?

We just got our SBC 383 running again. It has an all forged bottom end, full roller cam, Brodix heads, Vic jr intake.

To help protect the engine, what kind of RPM limiter does anyone recommend? We have an Accell distributor.

Thanks, Larry
lmccoll is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 06:02 PM
  #2  
ImBack
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shelbyville Indiana
Posts: 139
Default

Msd 2-step,cheap and reliable.
ImBack is offline  
Old 03-10-2008, 07:30 PM
  #3  
dak697
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 127
Default

I have used a MSD 2 step in conjunction with the MSD soft touch. I also used the soft touch with the dedenbear 2 step. the only difference between the MSD and the Dedenbear was that the Dedenbear was adjustable from 2200 on the low side to 11000 on the high side ..I still have the dedenbear 2step and have lent it out to a couple of guys that run stock and foot brake when they want to mess with the starting line chip
dak697 is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 09:08 AM
  #4  
topcat572
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port Sulphur, La.
Posts: 139
Default limiter

If You invest in the 2 step, for $10.00 more You can get the 3 step. Even if You have no use for it now, You may Grow into it. I would spend the extra $$ now, You never know. I bought a CC3 command center just for basic delay on the new car, man did I grow into it Quick. :lol:
topcat572 is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 02:07 PM
  #5  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default Re: limiter

Originally Posted by topcat572
If You invest in the 2 step, for $10.00 more You can get the 3 step. Even if You have no use for it now, You may Grow into it. I would spend the extra $$ now, You never know. I bought a CC3 command center just for basic delay on the new car, man did I grow into it Quick. :lol:

Dead on with the 3 step post ! Just never know
hammertime is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 06:54 PM
  #6  
ImBack
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shelbyville Indiana
Posts: 139
Default

Ive got a three step as well,just thought he was looking for basic rev-limiter.
ImBack is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 09:24 PM
  #7  
topcat572
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port Sulphur, La.
Posts: 139
Default limiter

I think Your right, just running a dist and coil? :shock:
topcat572 is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 03:25 PM
  #8  
lmccoll
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 36
Default Wow, thanks for all the replies

I just have a regular Accel distributor, high RPM module with a an Accel coil etc. With the high RPM module, motor runs good at 6500 rpm, I haven't ran it any higher.

I will take a look at the 3 step MSD, we run in a foot brake class, but I want something to protect our engine in case something like the trans breaks. We built a fairly strong engine and I would like to keep it together for a while!
lmccoll is offline  
Old 03-12-2008, 04:28 PM
  #9  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

You may want to check if a 3-step is legal in a footbrake class before you buy one. If not, they'll make you fill in the 3rd socket with silicone so you can't cheat....I know, it makes no sense, but it's true just the same.
johnracer is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information