The Turkey Night Grand Prix Will Serve Up 98 Laps of Action on November 22nd

It’s a tradition celebrating a 78th anniversary this year: the “Turkey Night Grand Prix” is the annual gathering of USAC Midget racers from across the United States for 98 laps of unfettered action.

Held this year at Ventura Raceway on November 22, the event features USAC P1 National Midgets and Light Up The World Beverages USAC Western States Midgets. The entry list has already reached 60, coming from across the country to enjoy racing – and maybe some turkey – on Thanksgiving Day.

Past “Turkey Night” victors entered in this historic race include NASCAR stars Kyle Larson (winner in 2012 and 2016), Christopher Bell (2014 and 2017), together with 2015 winer Tanner Thorson leading the list. BC39 victor Brady Bacon has garnered an entry for this event as well.

An assortment of 2018 National Midget feature event winners have entered this seminal event, including Tyler Courtney, Justin Grant, Logan Seavey, Chad Boat, Spencer Bayston, Kevin Thomas Jr. and Zeb Wise. USAC Western States winner Alex Schutte, Michael Faccinto, Damion Gardner, Shane Golobic and Jake Swanson are on the entry list.

USAC Triple Crown champ Jerry Coons Jr., USAC/CRA’s winningest sprint car racer Damion Gardner and past Western States champ David Prickett have joined the fray.

A practice session is being held on Wednesday, November 21 and the card for this event includes USAC West Coast/VRA Sprints. The race will be streamed live on hotp:// Live audio is available on the USAC app.

By Anne Proffit

87daa455-0f51-40b3-97a4-78e3565f6b27.jpg ¬
BC39 winner Brady Bacon of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma.
(Rich Forman Photo)

1 Kyle Larson/Elk Grove, CA
1K Brayton Lynch/Springfield, IL
1P Tristan Thomas/Burlington, WA
2 Robby Josett/Santa Clarita, CA
2D Kevin Woody/Victor, NY
3c Tanner Thorson/Minden, NV
4D Robert Dalby/Anaheim, CA
4M Michelle Decker/Guthrie, OK
7BC Tyler Courtney/Indianapolis, IN
7u Grady Chandler/Piedmont, OK
8 Randi Pankratz/Atascadero, CA
9D Michael Faccinto/Hanford, CA
9F Frankie Guerrini/San Rafael, CA
10 Lance Bennett/Aurora, CO
10B Blaze Bennett/Parker, CO
15 Jason McDougal/Broken Arrow, OK
15c Carson Garrett/Littleton, CO
15x Ashley Hazelton-Heredia/Chatsworth, CA
17BC Justin Grant/Ione, CA
17G Dustin Golobic/Fremont, CA
17s Sheldon Haudenschild/Wooster, OH
17w Shane Golobic/Fremont, CA
20 C.J. Sarna/Long Beach, CA
21 Christopher Bell/Norman, OK
24x David Prickett/Fresno, CA
25 Jerry Coons, Jr./Tucson, AZ
25x Damion Gardner/Concord, CA
27 Tucker Klaasmeyer/Paola, KS
28 Alex Schutte/Redding, CA
31 Kyle Beilman/Santa Monica, CA
33P Mike Leach/Foothill Ranch, CA
35 Holley Hollan/Broken Arrow, OK
39BC Zeb Wise/Angola, IN
50 Tony DiMattia/Malvern, PA
55 C.J. Leary/Greenfield, IN
57 Maria Cofer/Macdoel, CA
63 Kevin Thomas, Jr./Cullman, AL
63D Brad Sweet/Grass Valley, CA
67 Logan Seavey/Sutter, CA
67K Holly Shelton/Sacramento, CA
68 Jake Swanson/Anaheim, CA
71 Ryan Robinson/Foresthill, CA
71K Tanner Carrick/Lincoln, CA
71R Chase Johnson/Penngrove, CA
71s Cody Swanson/Covina, CA
71x Bryan Drollinger/Lomita, CA
72 Sam Johnson/St. Peters, MO
73 Dylan Ito/Newbury Park, CA
73K Buddy Kofoid/Penngrove, CA
73T Ryan Bernal/Hollister, CA
73x Carson Macedo/Lemoore, CA
76M Brady Bacon/Broken Arrow, OK
77 Daniel Anderson/Riverside, CA
77B Olivia Bennett/Aurora, CA
84 Chad Boat/Phoenix, AZ
85 McKenna Haase/Des Moines, IA
87 Colby Copeland/Roseville, CA
91 Chris Sheil/Aurora, CA
97 Spencer Bayston/Lebanon, IN
97F Jesse Fernandez/Parker, CO
S.gif ¬

About Anne Proffit 706 Articles
Anne Proffit traces her love of racing - in particular drag racing - to her childhood days in Philadelphia, where Atco Dragway, Englishtown and Maple Grove Raceway were destinations just made for her. As a diversion, she was the first editor of IMSA’s Arrow newsletter, and now writes about and photographs sports cars, Indy cars, Formula 1, MotoGP, NASCAR, Formula Drift, Red Bull Global Rallycross - in addition to her first love of NHRA drag racing. A specialty is a particular admiration for the people that build and tune drag racing engines.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


I agree to receive emails from I understand that I can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2005-2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands
All Rights Reserved.

Internet Brands