Schatz Loses the Final Race, but Wins the Championship in Thrilling WOO Finale

Schatz, World Of Outlaws, Sprint Car, Gravel Dirt Track

The golden boy of dirt Donny Schatz was upset in the final race but ultimately took home the big one. David Gravel struggled to make the pass on  Schatz with 7 laps to go but made a final push on the last lap and mad the thrilling last lap pass on Schatz in hair-raising fashion.

Lap five saw a wreck, in the second turn with Jason Johnson, Shane Stewart, Greg Hodnett, Sheldon and Jac Haudenschild piling up and bringing out an #OpenRed with 25 to go. All drivers were okay.

After one more final caution, Gravel came out firing and locked Schatz in his crosshairs calibrating with only 10 laps remaining.

With 5 laps remaining Gravel knew he had to cut down on the lead and attacked the cushion. Gravel’s aggressiveness paid off with a final lap pass of  Schatz bringing the crowd to their feet.

“That was a blast. I hope this crowd enjoyed it,” an elated Gravel said in Victory Lane. “Barry Jackson, Derek and Zach give me an awesome car every night. It’s been a badass year,” Gravel, who will return to CJB Motorsports in 2018, added.

Feature (30 Laps) 1. 5-David Gravel [5][$12,000]; 2. 15-Donny Schatz [3][$5,500]; 3. 21-Brian Brown [1][$3,200]; 4. 2M-Kerry Madsen [7][$2,800]; 5. 17B-Bill Balog [6][$2,500]; 6. 1S-Logan Schuchart [22][$2,300]; 7. 9-Daryn Pittman [4][$2,200]; 8. 12N-Cole Duncan [9][$2,100]; 9. 19-Brent Marks [14][$2,050]; 10. 59-Ryan Smith [2][$2,000]; 11. 49-Brad Sweet [17][$1,500]; 12. 44-Trey Starks [12][$1,200]; 13. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss [21][$1,100]; 14. 2-Shane Stewart [19][$1,050]; 15. 15H-Sam Hafertepe [23][$1,000]; 16. W20-Greg Wilson [28][$]; 17. 7S-Jason Sides [26][$]; 18. 19P-Paige Polyak [15][$1,000]; 19. 13M-Paul McMahan [8][$1,000]; 20. 18-Ian Madsen [11][$1,000]; 21. 4-Parker Price-Miller [27][$]; 22. 11K-Kraig Kinser [25][$]; 23. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild [16][$1,000]; 24. 71-Joey Saldana [10][$1,000]; 25. 41-Jason Johnson [18][$1,000]; 26. 27-Greg Hodnett [13][$1,000]; 27. 71M-Dave Blaney [24][$1,000]; 28. 17-Jac Haudenschild [20][$1,000]; Lap Leaders: Ryan Smith 1, Brian Brown 2-4, Donny Schatz 5-29, David Gravel 30; KSE Hard Charger Award: 1S-Logan Schuchart[+16]

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


I agree to receive emails from I understand that I can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2005-2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands
All Rights Reserved.

Internet Brands