Ford GT Welcomed Back to World’s Most Famous Race


The world’s most famous race, the Le Mans 24 Hours, is welcoming back the Ford GT 50 years after history was made.

In 1966, Ford did what no American car company had ever done before (or has done since), which is to win the Le Mans 24 Hours. This year, all 12 drivers will remember this historic event as they drive four all-new Ford GT race cars around the Circuit de la Sarthe.

The first qualifying session of this year’s event took place on Wednesday, and wet conditions yesterday made it difficult for teams to beat their fastest laps.

This year’s pole-sitting lap was a 3:19.733 set by Neel Jani in the Number 2 LMP1-class Porsche 919. Its sister, the No. 1 919, will start from the second position.

The track is an incredible 8.47 mile circuit that will be run for, you guessed it, 24 hours. The Ford GT Driver Line-Ups are:

#66: Stefan Mucke, Olivier Pla, Billy Johnson

#67: Marino Franchitti, Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell

#68: Sebastien Bourdais, Joey Hand, Dirk Muller

#69: Ryan Briscoe, Scott Dixon, Richard Westbrook

You can follow the action on Fox Sports or online at

Copyright © 2005-2017 All Rights Reserved.

Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the
Terms of Use, Classifieds Disclaimer, Privacy Policy, and Cookie Policy